Sunday’s Satisfactory Smiles

I’m having to dig deep this week–I usually write what I find that makes me smile as it happens so that I don’t forget. However, not only am I dealing with the scanxiety of waiting for my CT scan results, I continue to battle against my lack of confidence after flooding the shower from my shower pan installation fail.

I’m having trouble getting motivated to fix my gaffe — you know, removing the stains on the ceiling below, and fixing the woodwork that I took off in order for everything to dry out.

The following made me smile because I looked hard enough….

  • the color of sage-ish green

  • the particular way some daredevil drivers maneuver through traffic

  • a video of little tap dancers

  • a power surge fried the electrical receptacle and the plug to our refrigerator. That didn’t make me smile…but…I replaced the receptacle and the plug with a little help from Google and some from my husband (he kept reassuring me and I had someone to babble about the steps I was taking). I am one baby step closer to confidence that I can do something without creating more work for myself—oh, and the house hasn’t burned down due to my rookie skills—and the refrigerator works.

  • the smell of the candles I purchased from Pier 1 Imports

  • comments from my friends

  • a conversation with a long-time friend on the day I needed her perky voice the most

  • the man carrying his daughter, wearing a flashy little princess outfit, into The Home Depot

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Sunday’s Satisfactory Smiles

  1. aviets says:

    Wow, good for you on the fridge outlet. Mad skills!

    The Home Depot princess is so adorable. The little girls next door to us were out riding bikes (with training wheels) yesterday sporting tutus, feather boas, and toy jewelry. So fun!

  2. reocochran says:

    Calming and sometimes bright colors plus a little girl being carried into a store are two favorite positives I look for daily, April.
    It is so true that babies, animals and nature are popular day brighteners!
    Hope the results for your scan will help ease your next period between these tests.
    I think home repairs of any kind that require time to re-do are annoying. This flooding would bring me down, too.

    • April says:

      I like red the most, but I’m so drawn to shades of green. I loved the way the dad was carrying his daughter…it was a sweet moment.

  3. April…..here’s a new way to look at your shower pan “fail”….. I, and a bazillions others, would never have attempted it. To me, YOU win. πŸ™‚ I love that you just did it!!!!

  4. Gallivanta says:

    I wonder if we both saw the same video. The one I saw made me smile.

  5. Glynis Jolly says:

    Whoa, you’re becoming quite the handyman (okay, person). πŸ˜€ I’m always afraid to do stuff like that. I’m sure glad Hubby is handy.

  6. mewhoami says:

    Goes to show that if we look hard enough, there’s always something good to see. Glad you were able to find some smiles. I must agree about the drivers. Their driving skills can be quite impressive, and yet frightening at the same time.

    • April says:

      I remember when teaching my kids to drive that they should always expect someone to do something dangerous. More times than not, they will and they should drive accordingly. Now, if we could only keep the deer out of the road. Our youngest has hit two. Thankfully he was safe, but I can’t say much for his car.

Comments are closed.