DIY Projects With Your Spouse – The Waiting Game

Here we are again…..waiting on another contractor to come and finish a job I started.

We wait, because that’s what happens every time we call in the professionals. All this time, I could be perfecting my attempts at shower pan installation. I already know I’m great at demolishing things if I screw up.

I have to say that my ego took a hit, and I’m still unsure of myself. I am in the process of building that confidence back up and I have a couple of ta-da posts to share soon.

The thing I don’t like about having a tile guy come in and make our shower pretty again is the fact that he said it would take a week to accomplish. I kind of knew that because there is wait time for things to set. However, having a stranger, or strangers, in my bedroom area for a week is a little unsettling to me.

I will be hovering over the guy because I’m going to learn to do this!

Not that we have heard from the guy, but now we are waiting on my schedule of visits with all my friends having the last part of their professional titles ending with ist. Sucks to have so many different types of doctors, but this week is full of appointments. ugh.

So, Miss-Impatience-Pants will continue to wait.

There is still a discussion hanging in the air about having the guy just to the shower pan and I will tile the thing.

As of today, the discussion is ongoing. Mostly, it’s me talking and my husband not exactly listening. (I think)

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in DIY Projects With Your Spouse and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to DIY Projects With Your Spouse – The Waiting Game

  1. aviets says:

    So much OUCH! Having workers in the house is absolutely miserable. Waiting for them to actually do something is just as bad. All the doctor visits – yuck!! I’m hoping for some really good news for you very soon!

  2. I don’t like people hovering in my private areas, either. I hope your bath is finished soon!

  3. Gallivanta says:

    Waiting, waiting……one of the reasons there’s so much in my house that has yet to be fixed is because I hate the waiting, I hate the mess, and I hate the invasion of my space. 😦

  4. Cathy Bohlae says:

    April….small leak and my bathroom is torn apart also….now dried (which heated my house up so I could not sleep…let us not talk about the noise) and waiting for the finishers to come in…..fun stuff here. This is also the bathroom off my bedroom and so not liking it!!!

  5. mewhoami says:

    There’s always something to learn. I’m sure that the guy will appreciate your learning efforts, and if he doesn’t well….oh well. 🙂

    • April says:

      I’ll be taking some photos as well. Maybe I can convince him that he could be the next YouTube star. 😀

  6. Glynis Jolly says:

    April, you may want to think about firing that guy if he isn’t giving you what he said he would. I get real sick of the excuse, “Something came up that couldn’t wait.” Is he saying that about you to any of his other customers he’s putting off? Whatever happened to sticking to your word?

  7. Oh the agony of strangers in your house. Ugh. And not being able to quite do what you set out to do. So frustrating. BUT, I have to say April, I really admire your perseverance. Having them come in to do it, watching and learning, is a great way to keep moving on. Sometimes we just need that tutorial. 🙂

    And sending you powerful vibes for great news !

  8. reocochran says:

    I would possibly study online tiling and consider doing it myself. I said ‘possibly’ because this man may show up and be well worth the wait, April! Smiles and hoping it won’t take much longer to get this project completed. I can understand how you feel and I might be a little bit ‘simmering’ but not ‘boiling’ mad yet!

Comments are closed.