DIY Projects With Your Spouse – Various Tips and Tricks

When attempting a home improvement project with your spouse, acknowledging the strengths and weaknesses of your partner is a must.

Give your partner a wide berth.

Avoid talking to each other, but make eye contact and smile once in a while.

Praise them on the job they do—what a wonderful feeling to know that someone appreciates the hard work. I hope I am as thoughtful to my husband as he is to me. When I’m working on something, I’m extremely narrow minded and hyper focused on the task at hand.

Before any work begins, determine who will perform specific tasks and keep your nose out of what they are doing.

Communication is important, but get it over with quickly. (See above…the part about not talking to each other)

When you think a job is almost done but you find there is more to do than you thought, put on some uplifting music and push through.

When pushing through creates sloppy work—stop working.

Breaks, food, and water are a necessity. Stop to replenish your energy. Make sure your spouse stops too. It is okay to talk during these moments.

Don’t wash walls you intend to paint with a terrycloth towel.

Never, ever use wallpaper…be kind to the stranger who will move in after you and has a strong desire to remove it.

Humbly recognize when to call in a professional.

Update on our shower remodel.

Stalled.

After damaging the ceiling of the room below the shower, I was strongly convinced a third try would not be the charm.

I chipped out all of my second attempt with a chisel and a maul, and my husband hauled it off.

He is now interviewing professionals—dammit. How am I supposed to learn?

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in DIY Projects With Your Spouse and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to DIY Projects With Your Spouse – Various Tips and Tricks

  1. meANXIETYme says:

    I love those tips and tricks! Especially the no talking rule. LOL

    I’m sorry about the shower remodel issues. Honestly, I would have given up after the first attempt, but the handymen in my family would never give up. I think you’re right in the middle, giving it a good go but knowing sometimes it’s best to go pro. I hope you find someone excellent…and then you stand behind them and look over their shoulder the whole time. 🙂

    • April says:

      I will stand over their shoulder because I want to know how to do this thing. I have one more to do in another house. 🙂

  2. aviets says:

    Oh, my goodness. Makes me even more glad my husband will have almost nothing to do with our bathroom remodel. I truly don’t think we could work together productively even for one day.

    The eye contact thing – not five minutes ago I read an article on FB from NPR about eye contact between politicians (specifically in the Minnesota Senate) is prohibited because it can lead to more nastiness in discourse. A dog trainer chimed in suggesting that dogs’ use of eye contact to intimidate can be improved with the application of a small piece of summer sausage, but he wasn’t sure how well that would work with politicians. That image cracked me up.

    • April says:

      Hahahaha! I never thought of that. I meant just to acknowledge that they are appreciated. Eye contact is powerful, and I didn’t think of it that way….maybe I should change that tip 😀

  3. mewhoami says:

    Great advice for DIY projects. You are right on about communication. Too much of it will almost never end well, especially when tension is already high. A side note/ question – is the quotation from Andrew Cohen in the upper right-hand corner new? I’ve never seen it there before. It’s a great one!

    • April says:

      It’s new, I did it when I changed the name of my blog—which I discovered may not have been a great idea to just up and change your blog name. On the other hand, it is my blog and I can do what I want, right? 🙂 That quote is one of my many favorites.

  4. Bummer.
    I hope you get it sorted soon. :/

    I have to disagree with you on wallpaper, as I will be papering my master bath. I don’t care about who lives here later since I expect to live out my days here 🙂
    I have done my share of paper removal though. It is a serious job!

    • April says:

      We tried everybody’s tricks to remove wallpaper. There never seemed to be a great one that didn’t cause some wall damage. One problem was due to the fact that only a thin coat of primer was on the wall to start with. I hope putting it up is easier than taking it down. Good luck to you. 🙂

      • Oh man. Primer. Yeah, that stuff can be like glue! I had good luck with a bottle of downy hot water. Did three rooms and a hallway. I’m not sayin it was easy, but there are worse things. Like flooring, lol
        I don’t think I’ll be hanging the paper. I think I’ll pay someone. Old house, not many right angles 😉

  5. This is one of my favorites of your posts. 🙂 So informational! 🙂 And quite charming.

  6. Glynis Jolly says:

    Nothing is simple anymore. Don’t beat yourself up. ❤

Comments are closed.