Sunday’s Smiles

The following made me smile:

  • when I told Ms. Nurse No-Sense-Of-Humor that my occupation was retired stay at home mom, she started saying “retired…..” while writing. I was joking, she was serious—unless she has a great poker face. Either way, it made me smile.

  • bluest blue skies

  • while performing the dreadful chore of grocery shopping, I pushed my cart to the end of an aisle, carefully watching for others around the corner. A man appeared with the biggest smile on his face.

  • my big floofy cat hopping on the couch next to me and letting out a crackly meow while staring at me

  • contradictory people

  • fear that the pharmacist is judging me because I’m such a frequent flyer—then letting it go because it doesn’t matter what she thinks.

  • many blogs on WordPress

  • new pulmonologist passed the interrogation. I can breathe again!

  • a beautiful weekend of perfect weather

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Grattitude, Sunday's Smiles and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Sunday’s Smiles

  1. aviets says:

    About the nurse..I’m often bummed by the lack of sense of humor in medical professionals. I get that they have some gravitas, and that it’s probably hard to achieve a balance between friendly/human and professional/serious. I think one reason why we’ve stuck with our current doctor for so long is that she’s not afraid to joke just a bit.

    • April says:

      Our daughter is about to receive her RN…I hope she keeps her sense of humor because she has a great one. I have stayed with my doctor for so long because my doctor understands my sense of humor.

  2. I love when you have a large list of things that make you smile!

  3. meANXIETYme says:

    Like like like!

    I’ve been lucky to find more nurses with a sense of humor than not. On the other hand, many of the other staff in the offices don’t seem to have a sense of humor…unless they are sitting behind their desks and cackling with each other! (hey, let ME in the joke, I like to laugh, too!)

    • April says:

      The office staff can be horrible. I try to be nice and brush it off, but I can only be so nice to rude people.

      • meANXIETYme says:

        Seriously. I try to understand that people can be having a bad day. But having a bad day EVERY day?

        • April says:

          I have been going to the same Primary Torturer for almost 9 years now. She has a nurse who happens to be named April. We have clashed a couple of times. My doctor tells me to call her, but April won’t let me through. One time April couldn’t find a report a previous doctor had sent my current doctor. I said something about HIPAA, sat down, and told her I would wait for her to find the report. I’ve complained to my doctor, but I haven’t had to deal with her for a while. Maybe she’s gone? Fingers crossed.

  4. reocochran says:

    Glad you were smiling at the retired line, glad you received the biggest smiles by being cautious and peering around the corner of a grocery aisle. I love bluest blue skies, too. April, visiting and hearing about your smiles brightened my dreary gray evening, where rain is expected at any moment. I must leave the library before said storm starts! ha ha!

Comments are closed.