Farmland – It’s a Little Foreign

I have been learning a few things about cows. One broke free of its boundary fence and grazed in our yard, leaving evidence behind. I’ll bet it was cow, Right 44 Left 13130–the cow giving me the stink eye as I was trying to photograph it.

6K2A9450

I took some more photos over the rainbow in rural Missouri—one of which was of my barn again. The owner has cleaned up around the thing and it doesn’t appear it will be torn down. The cows use it for shelter.

6K2A9438

Did you know that a herd of cows will lie down at the same time according to the barometric pressure? I learned this lesson from my husband because I guess deer do the same thing.

Apparently, I have not spent much time in the country where animal farms are intertwined with the wheat. I have lived among the crops, not the animals. If I had, I would have known this. It was such an anomaly to look at a field of cows, all of them lying down.

The local newspaper is much like a blog. It’s the same as in the old days when it was written about so-and-so visiting someone in town. On the second page of the weekly newspaper was a story about cows and turkeys.

6K2A9421

Cows stand as a group, and gawk at people/animals. They spook easily and will scamper off. According to the article in the paper, there were a couple of turkeys beginning to fight and it scared the cows off. They returned to stand as spectators of the turkey fight. I would imagine it was a funny sight.

This one was hiding.6K2A9442

That is the extent of my knowlege of cows. 😀

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Farmland – It’s a Little Foreign

  1. Gallivanta says:

    I wonder what the extent of their knowledge of you is? 😉

  2. reocochran says:

    I have had an ‘eclectic’ life, some farm times and special moments and mostly, town and city times I have enjoyed. Beach times are my favorite ones of all. Your photos and cow thoughts were fun and amusing, April

  3. meANXIETYme says:

    We always learned that cows all lay down when it’s going to rain. As kids we used to pass farms on trips and scream “it’s going to rain!” when we saw cows laying down. 🙂
    Other than that, I’ve read that they like music (did you see the guy playing an instrument to his herd of cattle? And another video of a band stopping by the side of a farm to play–the cows all came to listen to them…)
    I LOVE the picture of that cow hiding!

  4. Amy Viets says:

    The also say that cattle tend to all stand facing the same direction. So I always watch for that. Last time I was on my way back from visiting our son in Wichita I saw a herd in which several were facing the wrong way. I was picturing the other animals telling them off. “What’s wrong with you? We’re all looking this way now!” and the offenders saying “Hey, we’ve got to do what we’ve got to do.” Probably they don’t have that kind of mental capacity, though. 🙂

  5. bmagpub says:

    This made me think of ‘the Far Side’ http://muscleresponsetesting.com/?attachment_id=343. Wishing you a wonderful day.

  6. mewhoami says:

    This brings back so many memories of my childhood farm life. Best life ever, if you ask me.

Comments are closed.