W is for Whew!

A twofer today because I missed Friday’s blog challenge for the letter V.

The thought of flying causes me great anxiety. Actually, it is more of a phobia which creates horrible bodily reactions. Being in huge crowds is also an anxiety trigger.

The Atlanta Hartsfield-Jackson airport is the busiest airport in the United States, and it is c r a z y. In fact, I have to concentrate so hard on holding myself together that most times I walk through the airport I’m in a zombie like state (best way to describe it for me), I don’t remember much.

Anyway, the TSA has a newish program called TSA pre-check. It means one can go through the security lines without having to place the 3 ounce liquids contained in a quart sized plastic bag on the conveyor, laptops don’t have to be pulled out, shoes can be left on, as well as coats. Both my husband and I pulled the jackpot and got the special pre-check nod.

Well…I was holding my sweater and the TSA agent told me I had to put the sweater on before being blasted with some more radiation, or place it on the conveyor for x-ray screening. Not wanting to hold up the line, I threw it on the conveyor.

…..and we were almost to the train/tram that would take us to our gate when I realized I had forgotten my sweater. I had to go back—-a very long hike of escalators and elevators back to the entry of the security line. I slogged through security again and retrieved my sweater.

I returned to where my husband was waiting and we made it to our gate huffing and puffing just as they were making a last call.

We sat in our seats and very, very shortly after, the plane started taxiing to the runway.

I didn’t have time to think about anxiety, and I can’t believe I thought my old sweater was worth almost missing our flight.

I have to thank my new pulmonologist–he gave me a prescription for a new medication and I can actually breathe better. Good thing, because wearing Birkenstocks also made running through the airport around a mass of people going every which way quite difficult.

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to W is for Whew!

  1. Amy Viets says:

    Isn’t it weird how flying can mess up your judgment? So much stress. I would have gone back for the sweater, too. I’m glad that glitch distracted you!

    • April says:

      I only think about….stay calm, breathe, you aren’t going to die….omgosh! I need that sweater in case it is cold in Missouri–which it was.

  2. We shall call this “sweater diversion”. 🙂

  3. mewhoami says:

    Close call! I like the pre-screen idea. That would save so much time, and I for one don’t like to undress every time I go through security. It’s very uncomfortable.

    • April says:

      Oh, the pat down is worse–they separate you from your carry on luggage. The things like your id, debit/credit cards, nice camera, ipad kind of stuff. Then the mean woman says “your stuff will be okay”.

  4. Glynis Jolly says:

    Some anxiety just doesn’t happen if you just don’t give yourself time to think about it. 🙂 ❤

Comments are closed.