V is for Vacuous Parents

There are times when it’s hard to determine whether to intervene in the lack of parenting of others. When a child is in harm’s way, it’s even tougher to hold our tongues.

While waiting for our bags at the Kansas City airport, a man with two little—really little–kids were also waiting for their bags. He was traveling alone. No other adult to parent him.

The toddlers were sticking their fingers on the baggage carousel while it was in motion. One kid even sat on the edge with his backpack hanging on the moving carousel, just ripe for getting caught up and carried to certain harm.

The dad? He was…..

…..TEXTING

OMG! What a freakin’ idiot! I stood there in the midst of a dilemma. Do I do something? Do I say something? I tried to capture the toddler’s attentions, but you know, I was a stranger and sticking fingers in the carousel is much less scary than speaking to a stranger.

Thankfully, they were not harmed, but the father could use some lessons. Just as texting is not a good idea while driving, it also applies to parenting.

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in 2015 A-Z Blog Challenge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to V is for Vacuous Parents

  1. Amy Viets says:

    Excellent rule, which isn’t followed by enough parents. I’m afraid that I have a reputation for being THAT WOMAN who would have gotten the kid off the carousel and told the father off. It’s the latent teacher in me. My kids have learned to anticipate when I’m about to intervene in one of those situations and they often grab me and say, “PLEASE stay out of it.”

  2. It is so hard to stand by and watch someone “failing” at their job without interjecting. I’m kinda surprised that the father hadn’t handed his phone off to his kids to babysit them for him as I see so many parents doing today.

  3. tric says:

    It’s a tough one. I tend to hover and say nothing.

    • April says:

      I do the same thing. We ended up helping the man get to his rental car. He had the two kids, a backpack on his back, his luggage and a car seat for the youngest. He certainly had his hands full and didn’t need to add to the mix by texting.

  4. Gallivanta says:

    Yes, it’s a tricky situation. But one that I am not in very often, thank goodness, because I never know what to do. As you say, the children are often more afraid of you, the stranger, than the actual danger they are in.

Comments are closed.