RSTU – is for….

Running

Straight

Toward

Uncertainty

We’re at a crossroads again and I find myself doubting if we’re doing the correct thing. Are we choosing the right path?

We have made a choice like this before. A path full of uncertainty, which resulted in the best decision we made for the future of our kids.

It’s hard to watch kids leave the nest, but we always know they will return, even if only for a short time.

Before too long, the nest will be leaving the fledglings behind and that just doesn’t feel right to me.

I’m not worried how well our kids will thrive—I’m worried if I will survive.

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in 2015 A-Z Blog Challenge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to RSTU – is for….

  1. Gallivanta says:

    Perhaps you can take comfort from the fact that you chose the right path before, and there is therefore no reason why you can’t do that again. But, yes, uncertainty is hard.

  2. tric says:

    I hear you. It is not easy to re invent ourselves when we no longer have children to mother. Good luck.

  3. aviets says:

    It really is a huge step you’re taking. But I bet if you just let it go for a bit, try not to worry it to death in your mind (I say that because it’s what I do and it never helps) and then go back to it a few days later, you’ll have a sense of how you really feel deep down about the move. I’m sending as many good vibes as I can…

    • April says:

      Thanks! Thats is some good advice. You sound like my Dr. Chill. That is something I need to do–take a little vacation from thinking about it all.

  4. When I was almost done building my nest here, my mother made a new home for herself five states away. We miss one another like crazy. Sometimes she says it breaks her heart to be so far away, but I think 99% of the time, she’s happy about her choice. Visits here and there are wonderful! We only get one life, and we need to live it for our own happiness whenever we can 🙂

    • April says:

      My mom lives in the Seattle area and I’m not sure if she is happy. One time I talk to her she wants to move, then she doesn’t, then she does. I have decided I need to live my own life–which also means if my kids aren’t near. Who knows…I could become an expert in shower installations that I will have a job to pay for the trips to visit them. 🙂

  5. mewhoami says:

    I think it’ll go much better than you imagine. Change is hard, but as you’ve experienced wonderful things can come from it.

  6. Oh it’s so very hard! I still struggle with it! But to be fair to me, sometimes the KIDS revert to wanting me to be the parent. There has been a time or two when they have said they would GLADLY revert back to being kids and letting me be in control of everything. What were they ever thinking, wanting to be adults. They’ve said it.

  7. Glynis Jolly says:

    I understand the uneasy feeling you have about this move. Some moves you just know are right. Others… well, you’re just not sure it’s the thing to do. Nothing is really permanent and there are very few things that can’t be changed or, at least, altered in this world. ❤

Comments are closed.