Q is for Quarterback

While my original thought on this topic was seriously going the football direction, I decided to go with an analogy.

Moms are Quarterbacks, however they don’t have a Quarterback coach calling the plays. Unless they welcome endless coaching from their own moms or mothers in law, they must wing it.

The Center snaps the ball putting it into play, and the Quarterback has to catch it. The Center better make a great snap or the Quarterback will drop the ball. Moms can’t drop the ball and must get their hands on it at all costs.

If a mom is fortunate, she will have a Left Tackle to protect her blindside because kids are great little sneakers, maneuvering around the offensive line and sacking the Quarterback.

Once the ball is in the hands of the Quarterback they usually have a predetermined play from the coach.

Moms? We don’t receive any prior instructions, no predetermined calls.

We have to rely on intuition whether to run the ball, or take a chance on a long pass down field. Which would mean the kids should be paying attention and actually catch the ball without stepping out of bounds.

In a perfect world, all the balls thrown would be caught, and the kids would run like the dickens. Unfortunately, there are many factors to take into consideration when considering the job of a mom than the job of a Quarterback.

Life has more chances of forcing moms to fumble or throw interceptions.

At times, their own team plots against them. The team drops the ball, trips right before catching the ball, they don’t turn around in time, or they don’t run the play they were supposed to.

Yes, children can wreak havoc on the best mom play called.

I think I could have used a play calling coach, but I believe I’ve won a couple of Super Bowls on my own.

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in 2015 A-Z Blog Challenge and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Q is for Quarterback

  1. Gallivanta says:

    I believe you did! And without a Super Bowl player’s super salary, I am guessing.

  2. Great analogy!! Being a mum is exactly like being a quarterback lol

    • April says:

      I think a mom is also like the President of the US. They can’t do anything right, and there are always some who are unhappy.

  3. aviets says:

    Very nice! I remember feeling that way, and feeling like I was totally screwing up by making my own play calls. Other times I was pretty sure I’d scored a TD. But every play could have gone either way…

  4. Wonderful analogy! πŸ˜€

Comments are closed.