O is for Ooops DIY Projects With Your Spouse – Second Fail

I hate to have to write this, but our second attempt at building a shower pan, and the required flood test didn’t go so well. However, there are no fingers being pointed because I’m so experienced in taking all the blame for all bad happenings.

Needless to say, our flood test showed us our flaw–from the first floor, traveling through the second floor and ending in the basement.

Thankfully, most of the water travelling through the second floor didn’t drip on the computer or other electrical stuff. It came close though.

The most unfortunate part of this, is that now I’m required to call a professional to do the major part such as making sure our drain is at the proper height, and the pan is installed correctly.

Which means I have to have some stranger lurking around my personal things in my bedroom area. ugh.

With any luck, he will let me hover and watch, because I am determined to do this in our new/old house and the next one we won’t have this problem.IMG_26821 copy-1

My parade has been rained upon and my balloon has deflated oh so slightly, but I still have the tiling to go.

I hate it when my husband knows better than I, but I’m glad I didn’t flood the entireΒ house. Another positive….I get to use the sledge hammer for the third time. For any keeping record, I tore out the original shower and began the new shower pan installation. That didn’t work out so I took a sledge hammer, a chisel, and a maul and tore that up.

Looks like that sledge hammer is going to get some more use. Yay! Since we do want to move from here, I won’t be doing the shower pan installation. Just the demolition and the tiling.

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in 2015 A-Z Blog Challenge, DIY Projects With Your Spouse and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to O is for Ooops DIY Projects With Your Spouse – Second Fail

  1. aviets says:

    Oh, the heartache! This sort of thing is my biggest fear on those DIY projects.

  2. At least you were willing to try to do the work yourself before conceding defeat and paying someone else to do it. Most of the newer generations assume it will be too hard and give up before ever starting. I wish more people would put in the effort you did.

    • April says:

      Thank you, but I think I was a little over confident. I think I know where we went wrong, but I won’t try a third until I actually see someone do it up close and personal…not through many youtube videos.

  3. meANXIETYme says:

    For serious, doing a shower pan from scratch is really technical. I know plumbers who hate doing it, it’s such a pain. Having a professional come in for certain things can be worth it. That why we have people who are experts at things! Also, it’s a great learning experience and any plumber worth his salt will let you hover and watch to learn.
    Enjoy your sledge hammer! πŸ™‚

    • April says:

      I will enjoy the sledge hammer. πŸ™‚ You’re right, that’s why we have the professionals. The reason I was determined to do this was our history with “professionals”. The people who fix something and we have to tear it out and do it all over. Or….they run off with our money…..or they make appointment after appointment and don’t show up. I learned my lesson though. πŸ˜€

      • meANXIETYme says:

        We have MOSTLY been lucky with “professionals”. But then again, one of my brothers seems to know everyone and he always knows someone who is a professional at “something”. LOL We’ve also used Angie’s List with some success.

        • April says:

          We’ve used Angie’s list but when the job is small, we have received referrals to small contractors. I think we’re going to ask Dave at the hardware store. He has been installing showers for a long time. He told us he would come supervise when we were ready to install. But no, my pride was too big to call Dave—I see the errors of my ways. πŸ™‚

  4. O is for Oooops is a much nicer way than saying O is for OH SHI!!!!!! πŸ™‚

    • April says:

      That s-word has been flung around a lot. A whole bunch of tears too. When I felt the water drip from the ceiling and then the wood framing the door into the den, I sat down and cried. Then I removed that door framing to make sure no water stayed puddled up there and created a mold issue for us. At least I know how to install trim molding.

  5. mewhoami says:

    Oh no! That’s terrible, probably the last thing you wanted to happen. Thankfully it wasn’t worse though.

    • April says:

      Big hit to my confidence, but my husband took it rather well. However, I sent him a bunch of photos to him while he was working, so he had some time to cool off before getting home.

      • mewhoami says:

        I think we’re always much harder on ourselves than we should be. What’s a major failure to us, is just a simple mistake to others.

        • April says:

          I was mad at myself for a week—still a bit mad, but it’s like knititng—I taught myself to do that. Every time I made a mistake, I ripped it out and started over. I puffed my chest up regarding the shower pan installation because I can do anything sarcasm. I tried, but the boss says no more tries on the shower pan, two ripping up along with the original rip up is two too many for him—well for me too. However, I am looking forward to removing my messed up shower pan. A hammer or a sledge hammer will do a lot for my anger. πŸ˜€

  6. Gallivanta says:

    Thank goodness for your sledge hammer skills. πŸ˜‰

    • April says:

      My tendonitis has almost healed from the last go. One thing is for sure, I will be having some muscles in my arms one of these days. πŸ™‚

  7. Glynis Jolly says:

    Are you sure you don’t want to call someone who knows about revamping? o_O

Comments are closed.