Moving Day

The world of my family was tilted a bit in the summer of 2006. That is when we moved nearly 3000 miles from the home we had known our entire lives. However, we tried to make it an adventure. We welcomed the opportunity to live in a new place challenging us to make new friends.

Easy, right?

Some of us, yes it was. Others—not so easy. We adjusted.

Then the day came. The one Iย had dreaded since the first day of pre-school. The day our oldest would leave home to begin his own journey. He was full of anticipation and maybe some doubt. I was sad and excited at the same time. Thankfully, he was not too far from home.

Six months later, we sent our daughter off on an airplane to return to that home 3000 miles away. I couldn’t get out of the airport fast enough and I sobbed the hour it took us to get back home. Both of us still cry when we have to say see you later, but it’s hard for me to send her off at the airport…her dad usually does it.

Then the day came for the last one to leave home. All I could picture was that little redheaded boy I spent so much time with. He wasn’t so little any more. He had passed me in height so many years before. He lives even closer to us and we always see him when he runs out of money.

Of course, we had a boomerang….in fact two boomerangs, but they have moved out again, leaving us with an empty nest.

As far as the empty nest? In the words of Tim McGraw…..I like it, I love it, I want some more of it.

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in 2015 A-Z Blog Challenge and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Moving Day

  1. aviets says:

    Oooh, I know those airport tears much too well. And I really admire your adventurous spirit in being willing to “up stakes” and move across country. That would just about be the end of me.

    • April says:

      It nearly was the end of me. My husband knew people here, but I didn’t know a soul except for a distant cousin…met a couple of times when I was a teen. Ha! Just when I get used to it and find I kind of like Georgia, we will be up and moving to Missouri. Life takes us weird places sometimes.

  2. mewhoami says:

    “when he runs our of money.” Ha! At least you get to see him though. Moving is hard. Change is hard. It would be so nice to stay in the same place, but sometimes what we need is the exact opposite.

    • April says:

      Very true. Even though hard, and I have had to fight the depression that it brought on, I’m glad we did it. I found we were living a one sided type of life. It’s interesting to see how others live–especially in humidity.

  3. tric says:

    Two of my four have left for college, but come back every week. My son is going away in January for eight months and I’m dreading it. I hope all mine are boomerangs too.

    • April says:

      I love my boomerangs, but the brought animals with them. It made me a little crazy. They have instructions to NOT get another animal if they ever think they may return home.

  4. Gallivanta says:

    Oh yes, I like my empty nest, too.

  5. suzjones says:

    Glad to hear things are okay now babe. Big hugs to you. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. When I build my dream house, dream village, it won’t be away from my kids. It will include them and all they want to have move in with them. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Glynis Jolly says:

    Yeah, more peace and quiet. I want more too.

Comments are closed.