G is for Grunt

Yes, something I have been doing a lot of lately.

The lingering shower remodel has had me grunting to get up off the floor, grunting while moving concrete backer board and boxes of tile up a flight of stairs — oh, another G-word — Gorilla Gripper….the perfect tool for a single person carrying sheet rock.

2123_1053992427363_800_n

How could anybody say no to this? We knew she would grow and we have really enjoyed her. She also has many forms of grunts.

Of course, I have to give a lot of credit to my personal Grunt–my husband who has done the heavy lifting. Well, minus the concrete backer board. He was out of town, and I wanted to get it off the garage floor so that he could park in the garage when he returned. He will be hanging the stuff while I become the holding-in-place grunt.

A couple of days ago, I asked myself why this is taking so long. Other than tearing out our/my first attempt at the pre-slope part, I realized I have anxiety over my abilities to install the perfect shower stall. eye roll

Either it’s anxiety, or the good old procrastination problem I constantly fight. It certainly isn’t depression–for the moment, I have that one licked.

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in 2015 A-Z Blog Challenge and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to G is for Grunt

  1. Gallivanta says:

    Oh, your grunter was so cute in puppy form. My little dog snorts. It’s hilarious.

    • April says:

      After looking at puppy photos, now I want another. The hard part is watching them navigate old age. 😦

      • Gallivanta says:

        Yes. Our old cat is on her last legs. She was so slow this morning, I really thought she might die before she reached the food bowl. But no. She perked up as the day went on. My Jack will be 8 this week. This breed can live 17 years so he is only middle aged. We will both be navigating old age together.

  2. meANXIETYme says:

    Yay for licking depression (which just sounds weird to say) but BOOOO for procrastination.
    But ZOMG YAY for that puppy picture! And yay for puppy/doggy grunts. Both ours grunt when they are getting petted/scratched in the perfect way. We love hearing that. We don’t do puppies, so we’re used to holding out against puppy cuteness.
    Also, be sure to take care of yourself physically during your remodel. Be careful!

    • April says:

      The hard part about licking, or managing depression, I’ve caused another anxiety issue….when will it return…

      Our dog makes all sorts of awful sounds. When she wants to smell something on the floor or in the grass, she sticks her nose flat on the ground and kind of sounds like shes sucking through a straw. Not sure we will get another dog and we usually get them at the animal shelter so that they are already potty trained. I swear, these mastiffs reach age 2 and they are old from then on.

      Thanks for the encouragement! I will be careful. All the hard stuff is done except the wall board, but that will mostly fall on my husband. πŸ˜€

      • meANXIETYme says:

        The anticipation of pretty much anything–fear, illness, panic–causes anxiety. It’s that vicious cycle, sadly.
        One of our dogs snorts sometimes. The same one also SNORES a lot. We’ve had her checked and she’s fine, she’s just apparently a snorer and snorter. It’s cute, though. πŸ™‚ Oddly, not quite as cute when it’s the husband doing the snoring! (of course, he’s about 1000x louder…)
        I LOVE other people’s puppies, but we don’t have the patience and I have major issues with house-training. So we’ve always gotten adult dogs. Personally, I love older dogs because they’re this weird combination of sweet and grumpy. But on the flip side, I don’t deal well with loss, so we try to get a middle-aged dog so I don’t spend all my time thinking of how I’ll deal when they’re gone. 😦

  3. anxietystarr says:

    oh Dogues are such cute puppies!!!!! My little dog also snorts lol

  4. mewhoami says:

    Seeing as how it’s your first time, I’m not surprised that it’s taking so long. Plus, it’s better to have ti done right than have to redo it later. Your dog, as a puppy, was absolutely adorable! Still is.

  5. That Puppy Grunt is perfectly adorable. And grunting is proven to be a good way to lift and move.

  6. Glynis Jolly says:

    Question: Is it actually anxiety or is it low self-esteem, or maybe it’s low self-confidence? I’m finding that my meds are taking care of the GAD just fine. It’s the low self-esteem and low self-confidence that get in the way.

    • April says:

      I still have anxiety issues and my medication helps me manage it, but I also have horribly low self-esteem or self-confidence. It’s better than it was, but I have a long way to go.

      • Glynis Jolly says:

        My experience has proven that the low self-esteem/low self-confidence is harder to deal with than that anxiety. With the anxiety, I can sit myself down and have a good talking to myself. With the other two, I still haven’t found what works.

        • April says:

          I totally agree. You know what helps me with the confidence and esteem issues? When I say I can’t do something, or that ‘I’m stupid’, I ask myself where the proof of those beliefs. More times than not I discover that they are false beliefs because I have more proof that just the opposite is true.

Comments are closed.