D is for Dogue de Bordeaux

The following made me smile:

  • my husband came home from a week-long business trip

  • my mom called me

  • some Facetime with our daughter

  • crumbled tofu being referred to as politely hot on the container. I suppose that is tree-huggery language for slightly spicy

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Ugh! I should have picked a theme for the a-z challenge. It’s odd how many thoughts come to mind about depression, but I don’t want to blog about that either.

We are owned by a Dogue de Bordeaux, also known as French Mastiff or Bordeaux Mastiff. I like to call her a Hooch dog because she is of the breed from the 1989 movie, Turner and Hooch.

This type of dog isn’t as ubiquitous in the states as say—a Labrador.

Since the movie debuted , I wanted a dog of this breed, but the cost of one was far beyond what I figured should be paid for a dog when there are so many at the animal shelter needing homes. But, we received a great deal on our little girl.

My daughter and I instantly fell in love with this dog breed. The more we looked at photos and YouTube videos, they all appear to have the same type of personality.

Maybe being a cat person, I had high expectations. I wanted her to cuddle and be one of those adoring dogs like our other dog, Cujo (not her real name–just describes her personality around strangers).

Contrary to what some believe due to the movie, our dog doesn’t slobber like Hooch, the actor-dog. We have slobber towels we use to wipe her mouth when she comes in from outdoors. We have to get that towel up under her lips to make sure we remove any residual stash, or we get slimed. She really only slobbers when she is tempted by treats, or after she eats and drinks. That’s not to say that I catch all slobbers.

Yes, I find it everywhere—including the ceiling of our bedroom, and even in my hair. The stuff is not like baby drool, it has a gooey texture like congealed syrup—or flubber. It isn’t easy to simply wipe off a surface. The stuff actually takes paint off if allowed to dry. When she shakes her head, and she does have a stash in her mouth, it goes a-flying.

Our Dogue de Bordeaux is definitely a different sort of dog. Her only real love has been food. She chose our daughter and my husband as her humans, but that didn’t mean much. It only meant that she was more excited when they came home.

This breed of dog is strong. At her heaviest, she weighed 127 pounds. She is now down to 105 pounds. The veterinarian suggested we keep her on the low side of her healthy weight range because she tore a ligament in one of her legs. Their lifespan is anywhere between 8-12 years depending what you read. Bwoogs is 10, and nothing but a floor lump and major financing for our veterinarian’s establishment.

When answering the door, I have finally taught her to sit by me when I open the door. Many people have heard her bark, and by the time I open the door, they are standing in the yard.

The breed is not an easy one to train. At least ours hasn’t been. She doesn’t really care about doing little tricks, but she has finally learned to sit, stay….and well, that’s about it. Oh wait, she did learn to walk beside us instead of pull us…except for one time.

I wouldn’t recommend this breed for the dainty due to their strength and very muscular body. They have been used to haul carts or heavy objects. Case in point…..I kid you not, she pulled me off my feet and dragged me about 10 yards while chasing a squirrel. I was not on my feet, I was on my right shoulder.

We love our dog, but I’m not so sure I will be able to handle another like her because I’m sure a new one would act just like her. Some animals just can’t be replaced, and eventually my bones will become a bit more brittle.

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in 2015 A-Z Blog Challenge and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to D is for Dogue de Bordeaux

  1. aviets says:

    I’d suggest a chihuahua, but I find them repugnant.
    You are a saint to love a dog with so many um…issues. šŸ™‚

  2. anxietystarr says:

    oh DDBs are so gorgeous, I absolutely love mastiffs! Do you have any pictures of her?

  3. I can’t stop smiling about “politely hot”. šŸ™‚

  4. Oh, your dog sounds fascinating! Reminds me of dog-sitting for a Great Dane. I kept her for a week. I wanted to keep her to help my neighbor, whose husband had been injured and as such she had to go to Germany. She was a delightful dog, but our fence did not contain her, and I was afraid of liability (Army base housing.)
    She slobbered crazy.
    And when she drank, it was like a sprinkler system.
    And when she peed, it was Barbie’s pool.
    But the thing that really made me think I didn’t want one of her puppies? Hair splinters! Those are no joke!
    But gah, she was a fantastic doggy šŸ˜€

    • April says:

      I love the way you described drinking. It’s the reason why our dog’s is outside. In fact, I think my son captured some photos of her when she lifted her head mid-drink. It wasn’t a pretty sight. I hear Great Danes have a mild temperament–I’ve read they make great dogs for apartment dwellers.

  5. Gallivanta says:

    Ah, lovely to learn more about your Dogue. Don’t know that I could handle the slobber but her personality seems adorable.

  6. Glynis Jolly says:

    Wow, that’s a big dog. For some odd reason, I’ve never pictured you with a dog like that. I was think more the size of a Beagle or Fox Terrier. Now, I love Labs. I think they’re one of the easiest breeds to train.

  7. I would love to see photos of your nice dog April šŸ˜€
    I love both cats and big dogs. Small dogs are not my style either. Your dog sounds amazing.

  8. reocochran says:

    Your girl “Hoochie” coochie, is cute. I especially liked her ‘decked out with the Easter ears!” Oh April, I could not resist the silly comment! My brother and sister in law have a Newfoundland. This one is a girl named, “Fiona” like from the Shrek’s girlfriend. She also is low key and not so muich cuddly but likes to warm up your feet, she is black with a white furry chest and gentle with the grandkids, too. I like your Dogue de Bordeaux, April! I am more of a dog person but have liked cats since my best girlfriend insisted I get to know her cats so I could ‘cat sit’ for her! Her husband and she leave me great treats and let me sleep in the guest bedroom, it is like I should pay them! Smiles!

    • April says:

      That’s funny that you mentioned Fiona. We kind of think our dog looks like Fiona. Sometimes she pulls her ears in an odd way and almost looks like Fiona. Sounds like you have a special friend.

Comments are closed.