Classical Music, Cookies, and Commitment

The following made me smile:

  • a wild bunny hopping across our backyard.

  • listening to Classical music.

  • two squirrels chasing each other. I’m amazed at how they can run along the thinnest of branches and leap to another tree.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I would rather blog about, C is for cookie that’s good enough for me. Oh! Cookie, cookie, cookie starts with C.

Yes, I love a good cookie. Bar cookies are my favorite. Any kind of bar cookie. That’s about all I have to say about cookies.

My first thought was to write about part of my cancer journey. However, I’m ignoring it until June. This is my way to quit living in 6-month increments. It’s the one thing that blogging doesn’t help me move along. If I write about it, I think about it, then I obsess about it, then I’m convinced I have cancer of the everything.

I was going to give up on this challenge because I have so much on my plate at the moment. I don’t want to push myself into crashing. However, if I don’t let my mind wander too far, I can write short posts and catch up on reading other blogs.

Classical music is my C word.

Listening to each and every note, and each and every instrument is a treat to my ears. I admire how a person can write a piece of music so absolutely beautiful. Cranking up the volume also drowns out the barking dogs in the neighborhood behind us.

I’ll bet you thought I was going to write about cats or coffee, didn’t cha?

 

 

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in 2015 A-Z Blog Challenge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Classical Music, Cookies, and Commitment

  1. Bugsmetwo says:

    I find Classical music to be very calming.

  2. Some days when I drive to and from work I’ll switch over to the classical station and crank the volume up and just let the music calm me down. It takes some talent to write compositions like that.

  3. Coffee is my C word. Love the raw honesty in this post – thank you. ❀
    Diana xo

  4. mewhoami says:

    Listen to classical music while eating a delicious cookie bar. Sounds terrific. πŸ™‚

  5. reocochran says:

    Since having you have cancer in your life’s journey, I could see why it would pop into your mind, April.
    I would understand your talking about it, whenever you would.
    As far as your happy thoughts, I love bunnies! I enjoy squirrels and their antics, too.
    I also enjoy so many different kinds of cookies. I love frosted ones with vanilla cream homemade frosting. I follow with the fun one with M & M’s then white chocolate macadamia nut, then oatmeal raisin… Well, you get my drift….
    I do think bar cookies are delicious, like those lemon ones with tangy and sweet combined or chocolate peanut butter ones, which is like eating a candy bar.
    Hope you have a very nice celebration for Easter, April.
    I will be back on Monday to blog… Heading to Mom’s with oldest daughter and her two sons, they will stay at my brother and sister in law’s and I will stay with my Mom at her senior apartment.
    Hope you have fun, treats and family surrounding you, April.

    • April says:

      It will be kind of quiet around here. I hope you have some beautiful time with your family. πŸ™‚

      • reocochran says:

        Thank you for the kind wishes and I did have a lovely time over the weekend, April. Hope you had some fun amidst the quiet, some treat or other, too. I am remembering from your comment about tofu, that was a funny one, April!

  6. I heard a little piece of classical music by chance today, oddly enough, because I don’t often. So now I’ll smile knowing I did the same day you did and it made you smile so I’ll smile because now when I hear some by chance it will make me think of you and I’ll smile. πŸ™‚

  7. Gallivanta says:

    Love classical music, plus coffee, chocolate and cookies.

  8. aviets says:

    I’m with you on the classical music. My favorite when working in my office. Haven’t tried it for the barking dogs, though. Maybe the “1812 Overture” would drown out the yapping.

    Funny story…we’ve discovered that the dog from next door, who gets left on her own overnight frequently and barks all night long because he’s lonely (he really is a sweetie) can be quieted by simply shouting out our bedroom window, “Darby! Be quiet!” That shuts him down for a whole night! My husband says the dog is just totally confused because a window knows his name. πŸ™‚

    • April says:

      πŸ™‚ We have a couple who bark from loneliness, but then there are the ones that bark at everything that moves. I feel bad for the sad barking, but the nonsense barking just makes me mad. If they can’t pay attention to their dogs–yes, they are home–they should get a cat.

  9. I don’t think this people should have any kind of animal, if they don’t want to take good care of them and use time together with them.
    Nice post April πŸ˜‰

  10. Classical music is delightful to me, too. It’s the only music I can write to, although generally I prefer silence.

Comments are closed.