Acts Performed, and Stupid Things I’ve Said

Ha! I thought I would actually publish a post about my lack of coordination, but I have thought better of it. The stupid things I’ve said? Those are better left in the past.

The following made me smile:

  • our youngest invited us to his apartment, and Sensible Girlfriend cooked dinner for us.

  • greenery beginning to form in the backyard sanctuary.

  • the good kind of pain from doing yard work. I also received over 10,000 steps for my hard work…what a reward 😀

  • my $1000 medication? I got it for $25. My psychologist had to jump through hoops, which is another reason I appreciate him.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Okay, as if I don’t challenge myself enough, I’m going to try the daily a-z blog challenge. I have no clue if I have connected to the proper site, but here ya go. Oh! And just as my blog has random topics, so shall my daily posts.

Acts, is not today’s word. Actually–which happens to be one of my favorite words–I’m going to give a short synopsis of April in case someone new happens upon my blog. Of course, you can go to my About My Blog page, but I have to blog about something that starts with the letter A.

Since I’m a day behind, today will be a twofer–B is included as well.

April—yes, that’s my name. I was born in April. A couple of questions I have been asked about a gazillion times throughout my life are—if I was named April because I was born in April. The answer is yes.

Another question–I have two sisters…I have been asked if my sisters were named May and June. The answer to that is no, but I usually say yes. Another version is “where is May and June?” Silly people and their original questions. 😀

I hated my name because it was shortened to Ape. Many friends and their parents that I have known since childhood continue to call me Ape. It used to bother me in my younger years because I was so shy. It no longer bothers me.

I’m an anxiety sufferer, and have been working very diligently with the professionals to conquer this scourge of an illness. I’m also a survivor of stage 1a Adenocarcinoma (the lung type). To date, I live with NED (no evidence of disease).

On to the letter B

Beauty.

The reason I started this blog. I try to find something to make me smile each day to remind myself that the entire world isn’t ugly. My life isn’t full of ugliness.

There is beauty all around us—we simply have to notice it.

Each time I publish a post, I try to note what made me smile.

Beauty.

Look for it.

 

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in 2015 A-Z Blog Challenge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Acts Performed, and Stupid Things I’ve Said

  1. Very nice post April 😀

  2. reocochran says:

    I am happy to hear you had a nice meal with youngest son and sensible girlfriend, you made it to 10,000 steps and your green is starting to show. I am very pleased your medication got lowered with the help of your psychiatrist. Wonderful post with the fun part about people asking if you were born in April. I get so many silly comments about my name but yours is more obvious, so it would eventually annoy me a little… Happy whole birthday month, April! I also wish you and your family a splendid Easter!

  3. Gallivanta says:

    Admirable. Beautiful. 🙂

  4. I remember the first time my children had me to their place(s) for dinner. It was such a wonderful feeling. 🙂 And I love to read about a world where someone finds joy and smiles every day. 🙂

  5. mewhoami says:

    I kind of think that that’s a cute nickname, but I can see how that would be embarrassing at a younger age. I’m excited for your son and his girlfriend. You no longer have basement dwellers, eh?

    • April says:

      That was my youngest son who invited us to dinner. The one who has challenged me the most. The basement dwellers moved out. They also broke up. We actually have an empty nest again!

  6. Glynis Jolly says:

    Incredible! What idiots would call you Ape? :/ I do have to admit though, talking about May and June when your name is given could be cute in the right circumstances — that is as long as it’s kept very short.

  7. I collect Aprils. I don’t know what it is, but I have as many April’s in my life as I have Jennifers. Crazy.
    You know, for the longest time, I didn’t think you HAD a blog. I remember clicking your gravatar and getting only your photo. Your gravatar wasn’t attached to a site. So I apologize. I would have been reading you much sooner.

Comments are closed.