Learning to be a Vulture

The following made me smile:

  • the $1000+ price the pharmacist quoted me for a 30-day supply of medication. The smile came after I picked myself up from the floor, after I got mad at our insurance company, and made a couple of stinky calls. Then I started laughing over the ridiculous price. (I didn’t get the medication–one that has seriously made a difference in my life)

  • saying hello to a man at the hardware store, who said hello—only to find that he was attached to a bluetooth thing in his ear.

  • Learning why I couldn’t see through my contacts—I had two contacts in my left eye and one in my right. Don’t ask me how I did that….no clue. Maybe I shouldn’t be in such a hurry?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

There is a new owner of the property across the street of our little house in Missouri. Apparently, he raises cows, and I’m seriously keeping my fingers crossed that he isn’t forming a dairy farm….a smell I don’t think I can get used to.

Anyway, the new owner has been bulldozing hills, removing trees, and putting up a barbed wire fence to keep his cows from being stars in the local police blotter for running amok.

On the property is this barn…6K2A1321I’m wondering if he knows how much people will pay for that barn wood. I have been keeping my fingers crossed that he won’t tear it down before we get up there again.

I will be knocking on his door asking if he is planning to tear down his barn and if I can demolish it for him. I won’t be using my sledge hammer, and I’m pretty sure I would have to pitch a fit to convince my husband that my intention is to tear apart a barn.

I want that barn wood. I have some ideas….

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Learning to be a Vulture

  1. Firstly, I love that photo of the abandoned barn. Secondly, I completely understand your frustration in the atmospheric price range of medications that are needed. Each one of us reacts individually with the millions of neurons that fire through our brain. Those who are proactive, do their best to maintain their health and have learned the hard way what does and does not work. I am one of those people who pays thousands to have a medication. Our health system is reactive and waits for people to fall apart, and hospitalize, rather than provide what is needed on an individual basis and sustain stability. I join you in your anger and frustration.

    • April says:

      My doctor worked on it for a couple of days, so I will check tomorrow and see if he made any headway. My samples are about to run out.

  2. I say: Go get that barn wood! Love the picture of the barn too, that needs to be used somehow… 😉
    Diana xo

    • April says:

      I took up photography so that I could have what I call a ‘wall hanger’. This might be one of those I will actually print and frame. 🙂 Thanks!

  3. aviets says:

    Love that barn and I’m really curious what you have in mind for the wood! I hope you’ll follow up on the story about your meds and the price. I want to know how that one turns out. Stupid insurance companies. I love how calmly pharmacists break that kind of news. I keep hoping that one day a pharmacist will be as outraged as I am over that kind of crap, but it hasn’t happened yet.

    • April says:

      There are tons of things to make with barn wood. One of them being a headboard…tables, I’ve even kicked around using it on one of the walls for a lodge/cabin/rustic style we like. To buy that stuff costs a mini fortune, and I have to save my money for medication. 😀 I’ll let you know how it turns out.

  4. reocochran says:

    I love barn wood and the artistry of the weathered wood gives me many ideas too. Barn windows can become frames, their planks can make benches and also, I have seen people create pieces cut of the planks. To become a Queen of Hearts, one example of a craft fair item which did not take away from the wood, just the crown was more ragged and the face more worn.
    Ohh, I can imagine but wish you would get the wood and share what you do with it, April!

    • April says:

      I have some ideas for picture frames and furniture. Buying the wood is very pricey. If I can’t have some of this wood, I found a way to make new wood look like barn wood.

  5. reocochran says:

    shoot! I forgot to tell you that reversing my contacts can really mes me up, along with putting two on top of another. All before I drank my coffee…
    Also, maybe calling the drug company you could be allowed a different price? My friend who is part of a diabetic ‘study’ gets her supplies for so much lower price.

    • April says:

      I’ve gotten them mixed up before, but putting two in one eye was a first. 🙂 My doctor is working on something.

  6. tric says:

    I laughed out loud at your first three ‘smiles’. Brilliant. Love that photo too, but no comment on the cost of your tablets!

  7. That sounds like an exciting project! Also, I loved the little things that made you smile. Finding the humor even in the painful helps one to get through life. Like my mother says, “You can either cry or laugh.”

  8. Gallivanta says:

    Hope you can work something out re your meds as well as the barn.

  9. Glynis Jolly says:

    I’m told that I’m artistic, but for the life of me, I can’t see a good use for rotting wood. Can you tell me what you’re thinking?

Comments are closed.