Life is too serious to daydream

The following is what has made me smile in the last couple of days:

  • I had so much fun spying on the garbage collectors today. Thankfully, the company that picks up our trash/recycling, isn’t the company that picks up recycling and throws it in with the regular trash. Good, I won’t have to make a phone call today.

  • a baby in its carrier doing baby things while his mom unloaded her grocery cart. The wash of nostalgia also made me smile.

  • my husband and I went out to eat last night and we weren’t one of those couples who sit and not talk to each other. Our conversation wasn’t exclusive to our kid’s shenanigans either.

  • my husband not believing me when I told him we had been to the hardware store 13 times just for our shower remodel. (I’m keeping track)

I have been nominated for The Daydreamer Award, by Sue at It Goes On. Many thanks to you, Sue. I’m not going to go through the process laid out by the award, but I accept the award bestowed upon me, and I thought it would be a great topic for a blog post.

My mind wanders far too much. However, it doesn’t wander to a daydream necessarily. I really don’t allow myself that pleasure and I need to correct that.

Sue wanted to read what my dream of a perfect day would be like.

So here ya go…

It’s morning in the Smoky Mountains. Our just-the-right-softness bed faces a huge picture window overlooking the mountains covered in low, smoky clouds.

I stretch my arms and toddle–old lady style–to the kitchen of our cozy log cabin to make a cup of coffee.Β On the way to the porch,Β I grab a smooshy blanket to snuggle under while I drink my coffee. I perch myself on one of the oversized rocking chairs. My husband accompanies me, settling into the chair to my right. We gently rock our chairs companionably, as we listen to the sounds of the mountains. Since I’m daydreaming, he would have a smooshy blanket, barefoot, and in his pajamas like I am—instead of being fully dressed. He would also have a large cup of coffee.

The clouds tease us with glimpses of the sun as my mind begins to come alive after sipping the best brewed cup of coffee in all the land.

We decide to take a walk through the forest. Because I’m still daydreaming, I wouldn’t change clothing — I would continue to be barefoot and in my jammies. However, the coffee has been replaced with my camera. My husband carrying a basket full of surprise delights that he prepared himself.

Squirrels, birds, raccoon, and deer surround us as we meander our way through the bug-free forest. We chance upon a black bear that stopped to look at us as we passed. In fact, the bear poses for a photo which later lands me a first place ribbon in The Photographer of the Universe competition. (may as well dream big)

Catching glimpses of the sun, we sit alongside a creek. Sitting in silence, my dad joins us for a while on his way to his special spot in heaven. The sun gently warms us as we lunch on the food my husband has prepared.

I hugged my dad before he said “lots-of-lumbago”—his particular way of saying ‘see you later’ in Spanish–Β‘Hasta luego! Returning to our cabin we spend the afternoon putting together a puzzle and chatting about unimportant topics. We have nothing to fix, nothing to worry about, no place to be—except right there, putting together a puzzle.

In the evening we hop into our Jaguar XJ-whatever, and drive down the mountainside to the small village at the base.

The only restaurant in the village has a quaint cottage-like appearance with gas lanterns framing the entrance. As we enter the restaurant, our noses are treated to the most delectable aromas. Our faces glow in the candlelight, as we take our seats near the window overlooking the river. For dinner I choose the ice cream entree while my husband dines on some dead deer.

We share our dreams, and my fear of everything drifts away with the river.

After dinner we return to our cabin with a perfect Lager beer–which happens to be Yuengling these days–and build a fire in the pit.

The crackling of the fire compliments the clink of our beer bottles while we make a toast ourselves, as the remnants of the sun surrenders to the moon.

**some of this is actually true, but I’m not divulging anything. πŸ˜€

***and I don’t claim to be a writer, I’m just daydreaming. πŸ˜€

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Life is too serious to daydream

  1. Sounds like a lovely day. Sign me up.

  2. aviets says:

    I love your perfect day! And baby-watching is one of the things that always brings me a smile, too. πŸ™‚

  3. reocochran says:

    I enjoyed this possible fantasy story or mixture, April. It had some great potential to become a short story, too. I liked that you are keeping track of how many times you and hubby go to the hardware store! I have been known to do such a thing! Smiles!
    Also, babies always capture my heart. I like how you said you had a ‘wash of nostalgia,’ April. So sweet!

    • April says:

      Thanks Robin. Maybe I could consider writing, but I have higher aspirations to become a master carpenter. Babies are wonderful. Since I saw that one, all I can think of is little stories of when my kids were babies. πŸ™‚

  4. tric says:

    I loved your daydream.. “some of it is true”… Mmmmmm

  5. Glynis Jolly says:

    I must have some serious issues because I don’t daydream. I don’t remember daydreaming ever, in fact. The ultimate cynic? :/

    • April says:

      I’m serious…I don’t daydream either. Dealing with real life is about all I can handle. I do have an imagination, but it is usually based on exaggerated real events.

  6. mewhoami says:

    The part about the black bear cracked me up! πŸ™‚ What a beautiful and perfect day that would be. I would love a day just like that.

  7. Gallivanta says:

    That would be a wonderfully perfect day. πŸ™‚

  8. suzjones says:

    I loved it!!
    What I really smiled at was your description of the animals coming up to you (even the bear) and I was reminded of Snow White and any of the other Disney princesses who speak and dance with the animals. I wish I could join you on this day dream of yours. It is absolutely wonderful.

Comments are closed.