Smiles IX

  • discovering the reason my husband has been muting the television has very little to do with actually listening to me—it’s because he can’t hear me and the TV at the same time. Looking at me kind of equates to his form of lip reading. Interesting 😀

  • yesterday was kids-make-a-birdhouse-day at The Home Depot. They each received a mini orange apron. One kid was just hammering the table. It was noisy, but sounded like fun. The memories of my kids and art projects danced through my mind.

  • I didn’t pay attention to a small portion of math instruction–fractions. See the pattern here? I didn’t pay attention to very much in school. How could I when there were so many windows to look out of? Anyway, learning that we can’t use pressure treated wood as a sub floor for a shower, we returned to The Home Depot to purchase a piece of 3/4-inch plywood. Can the tags on the lumber let us mathematically-fraction-challenged know that a piece of 15/32-inch plywood is the same as 1/2-inch? I know that a piece of lumber isn’t exactly 1/2-inch thick, but they mark the 2x4s as 2x4s, not the exact measurements. So…..we got a tape measure. I suppose if I want to make more products with wood, I should pay attention to lumber lingo.

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Smiles IX

  1. mewhoami says:

    My son used to love those building projects. It’s such a great idea for youngsters. I’m with you on fractions. If I remember correctly, I never understood them, not even in school.

  2. reocochran says:

    I liked how you labeled the fractions as part of ‘lumber lingo,’ April. Also, I love those days with kids at Home Depot. I used to take my grandson, when I had only one to take. Now, I fear taking kids into a huge place like this, since I end up with the pack of four kids that are my son’s combo. or the pack of two (but busy) boys from my oldest daughter. I like how you make us think and also, smile over and over again. Wonderful, April!

  3. aviets says:

    So how is the rest of that bathroom project going?

Comments are closed.