Smiles VI – I wish I were a poet

The sound my little cat makes when she sees a bird.

The sound of that bird’s song.

Those made me smile.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

I wish I had paid attention in English during our studies of poetry. Apparently, I’m a black and white sort of person with no room for grey. I’m a rule follower and a person in need of specific instructions. Ugh.

If I were a poet, I could use a word here or there, connected with other words here or there and leave it to the reader to interpret as they wish.

Most poetry is beyond my desire to stop and pay attention. To allow my mind to flow, and not follow a set pattern.

To feel the words and not just read them.

To daydream.

I’m not comparing myself to poets, I simply wish I could use a few vague words and tie them all together in order to make my words have feeling.

Instead, I have to spell out all details to express myself. I simply wish I could do that with fewer words.

Sometimes I would just like to release some dark thoughts.

Vaguely.

But, I am who I am….and I’m okay with that.

 

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Smiles VI – I wish I were a poet

  1. mewhoami says:

    I know exactly what you mean. Sometimes we don’t want to spell it all out for people. We just want to express our feelings, get them out. And doing it vaguely, sounds so much more appealing than being blatant.

  2. reocochran says:

    I like this so much, just concentrating on your smiles list, at the moment, April!
    I think you have a poetic way with words, by the way. Not necessary to be a poet, in my eyes, you are a great writer! I mean this, really!

  3. I think you would create lovely poetry doing just this. Poetry is for yourself. Write it the way it feels right to you. As brief and vague as you like. See how you like it. πŸ™‚

  4. Glynis Jolly says:

    April, some of your post are quite poetic. Sure, there isn’t any rhyme but the flow and the words choices are definitely that of a poet.

  5. Elouise says:

    Your writing is beautiful. I hear a great sense of timing, a feel for rhythm and movement and connections between things that happen, plus an undercurrent of determination and even happiness. It’s tricky to put yourself down in writing (negatively), and also convey your sense of hope even though it’s sometimes stretched to the max. I don’t know if this makes sense. I think good poetry depends on having your feet on the ground and being aware of what’s going on inside and around you. You’ve got it! In my opinion….
    Elouise

    • April says:

      Thank you. I think half my problem is taking the time to simply let the words touch me. I see words that I know are poetry, but most times I don’t slow down enough to enjoy each word–therefore, it is beyond me. Thank you Elouise. πŸ™‚

      • Elouise says:

        Thanks for this comment about yourself. I think it’s true. I never thought about it that way, though. About the time it takes to let words touch us. So we feel and, as you say, enjoy them. Each word. Thanks, April! Have a happy day–as happy as it can be.
        Elouise

  6. aviets says:

    It’s great to be getting to that point where I’m okay with who I am. Took long enough. I’m glad you feel that way about yourself.

Comments are closed.