Not exactly sure what we’re doing, but we’re doing it anyway

This is what I have been doing….

6K2A2383

The beginning of the job I started while my husband was at work. I thought I would be able to take tiles off without damaging them if I were very careful. It didn’t take long to realize we wouldn’t be reusing them and probably can’t match them anyway–so, instead of the bottom two rows, they were all destroyed—along with the wallboard.

Part way there.

6K2A2390

I had the help of my husband and we actually didn’t have any working-together-tension. Meaning, I didn’t have to stomp my foot about anything. But I had in ear plugs and was in my own ‘zone’. There was something very rewarding about smashing tile and tearing into the wall. I don’t know if he became frustrated with me–if he did, he took it out on the wall.

I really didn’t think the demolition process completely through. The debris had to be packed down the stairs. Thankfully, my husband took on the duties of the grunt.

Yesterday I spent with the heating pad on my back to deal with the spasms my exuberance created. I watched YouTube video after video and read website after website of printed details regarding the anatomy of a shower stall and tub surround.

Now that I’m an amateur expert on shower stalls I’m more than a little miffed about the skill with which the shower was installed. No wonder we had water behind the walls. Thankfully it wasn’t bad. Even though I caught a faint moldy smell, there was no toxic black mold.

Today, I have to put on my maid uniform and do the duties around the house.

I shall read some blogs to catch up in between chores. It’s my way of rewarding myself….after I do X, then I can read for 15 minutes……..

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in DIY Projects With Your Spouse and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Not exactly sure what we’re doing, but we’re doing it anyway

  1. meANXIETYme says:

    OhEMgee. Good luck! We’re DIYers and have redone multiple bathrooms…but we’ve only used either a tub as the base or a fiberglass pan as the base. Tiling a shower floor is HARD, having to maintain an appropriate slope, etc… Doing walls (shower or tub) aren’t so bad once you get into the swing. Keep in mind to not let the mastic under the tiles creep in between the tiles when they are placed because once that dries…getting grout in there will NOT cover up the mastic and you’ll have little spots of white mastic peeking through the grout.
    Good luck! 🙂 And also, waving my hand as your heating pad buddy! LOL

    • April says:

      Thanks for the info on the mastic! The slope thing is the most watched video over and over. One guy had the best way to maintain the correct slope. We shall see….

  2. aviets says:

    OMG what a project. And this cracks me up because I did a similar thing, on a smaller scale, in one of our bathrooms years ago. One day I decided it was time to redo the whole bathroom, and on a whim I started peeling off the yucky wallpaper. Chunks of wall came with it. That was eight years ago and the bathroom is still in the same state today…only worse because in that time we had a leak in the upstairs bathroom and the husband had to cut a huge hole in the downstairs bathroom ceiling to access the pipes, and then cut a big hole in a wall looking for another leak. It’s absolutely the most disgusting mess you can imagine, and we’ve lived with it for eight years. So much for reckless enthusiasm. I have a feeling you’ll actually complete your project, So much envy!

    • April says:

      Sounds like something we would do…but this time we have to finish so that we can sell and move to MO.

      • aviets says:

        IT’s good to have a goal to keep you going! I’m keeping my fingers crossed that we can finally do something about our bathroom this summer – our son is on board to do all the work!

  3. mewhoami says:

    Wow, you’ve been busy! Are you going to show off the finished product when you’re done?

  4. Gallivanta says:

    Impressive! Have you chosen your new tiles yet?

    • April says:

      We’re going to look at some this weekend. We don’t want to spend a ton of money, just enough to entice someone to buy our house. I’m looking for something that is timeless but attractive. Why do bathroom trends have to change so often? It’s expensive to redo them, but they seem to be important to buyers.

  5. Glynis Jolly says:

    We had our bathroom redone about a year and a half ago. I love my new shower. We had unseen plumbing problems under the house. Luckily they were an easy fix. 🙂

    Because I get antsy easy, my chores are done when I can’t stand sitting at the computer anymore. I can usually get a whole room done before I feel like going back to the screen of cyberspace.

  6. reocochran says:

    I fell behind on reading, not wanting to trudge to the library and blog, mostly wanted to write my posts, read my comments and leave. So, I cannot believe how many posts I needed to read to get to where I feel I am caught up. I apologize, although I follow you, I still don’t have many of your posts come into my reader, April.

Comments are closed.