She said…he said…she was right, and it’s not good

There is a constant debate going on in our house, which I have probably mentioned before—when to hire out work, or can it be a DIY project. Except for electrical work or plumbing, I believe I can do anything. I will go forward with or without help, far too over confident, but I soldier on.

You know why? People just don’t take pride in their craftsmanship. Or, they know a little, but not enough to really help or do a good job. Well, I can do that. I know a little, but I will make sure it’s right and not stand back after a patch/crappy job and say, “that’s good enough”.

Oh and that Angie lady? The one with the list? Her list is not really that reliable. Either that, or we end up choosing the professional that is far too suave and are mesmerized by what they will do for us. Months of waiting for things to be repaired, filled with lies about the delays and no-shows, is not worthy of a list like that.

…and the new story begins….

She and he have had an ongoing problem with the drain in the tiled, walk-in shower. She pulls the hair from the drain which they believe is the source of the water back up. He pours Drano in the drain several times. She pours Drano in the drain a couple of times. He and she continue standing in water while showering.

She gave him three names with A ratings from the list of Angie. He called in the professional plumber.

While the plumber was snaking the drain, she asked him about the discoloration of the tiles around the bottom of the shower. The plumber’s response was that sometimes the installer will choose from a different box of tiles, which will create a mismatch. She asked, “are you sure it’s not water between the tile and the wall”? The plumber assures her that it is not.

Hmmm….it wasn’t that way for years, but he, the husband, believes it was.

Who scrubs that shower? She does.

However she scrubs it with her glasses on. The glasses that are of absolutely no use to see things up close–even through the bifocal part. So, for years, she scrubs away….until one day, she takes her glasses off and inspects the nooks and crannies of the shower.

The debate ensues. She says she will fix it, he says a contractor should be called just to see if they can tell if moisture is between the tile and the wall.

She breaks a couple of tiles off the wall. Yes, moisture is trapped between the tile and the wall. Many unsavory words went through her mind, but the excitement of a new DIY project began to build. He says that they need to call in a professional. Ahem, a professional installed it in the first place.

She will re-tile the shower, and it will be perfect, or she will tear it down and do it over, until it is perfect.

He rolls his eyes and gets out of her way.

Until he has to call a professional.

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to She said…he said…she was right, and it’s not good

  1. aviets says:

    I totaly agree with you about paid “professionals” never having the same standards we expect – that’s why we’ve only called in one of those guys FOUR times in the 29 years we’ve lived in this house. And why The Husband refuses to take the cars anywhere to be worked on. He’s been screwed by mechanics too many times. But I have to say, you are truly a Superwoman. I would never have the guts to re-tile the shower!

  2. All the lists are rubbish, testimonials fake or from people too inexperienced to know it was done wrong. Just found out that our zone valves were all linked into a single box that wasn’t rated to handle that many zones, another example of the shoddy work and shortcuts that went into this house. Husband and I have taken it upon ourselves to rewire and link up the equipment properly since hiring professionals has never seemed to ensure anything but a large bill and a redo of their work anyway. Now I know how to set up a boiler system and zone it out…gotta love instruction manuals.

    • April says:

      We had the problem with our windows that had wood rot. We ended up getting the lumber ourselves after being told it was special order type of material. We fixed it ourselves. The only thing we did have done was the garage door that I mangled. That big spring was just a little too scary. However, we had to wait about a month and a half of shame.

  3. Elouise says:

    Smart man to get out of your way! It sounds like the odds are in your favor. You do indeed have guts. I always want a professional, but then I’m a perfectionist and most of the time they aren’t! I think I studied all the wrong things in school. But not to be too hard on myself. If professionals listen to me, welcome my questions and my very picky instructions about what I want, I usually get through OK. If they don’t try to sweet-talk me like I don’t know how to think about things.
    Elouise

    • April says:

      Yes, that tone they take with me is very frustrating. However, if we do call in someone, you can bet I’ve Googled all I can and I know exactly what is happening. šŸ˜€

  4. mewhoami says:

    I’m with you. If you can do it yourself, why call on a professional? Plus, why miss out on the fun of a new project? Some people just don’t have the skill it takes though. I remember my old landlord came in to fix the shower head tube thingy (lol) in my tub. Before long, he had the whole bathroom torn apart and had to put me in a hotel while he fixed it all. Ha!

    • April says:

      I’m glad we have another bathroom to use. I have watched people tile over and over, starting with my dad when I tagged along with him. I’m keeping my fingers crossed.

  5. You make me laugh. šŸ™‚ You are very brave! And I think the best way though, if looking for a professional, is word of mouth from people you know. That’s the best luck I’ve had. šŸ™‚

  6. Glynis Jolly says:

    I’ve seen the commercials for Angie’s List. I’ve been to the website. When I discovered that I’d have to pay for the service, no way was I going to use this. The customer paying for the review of a service? This is wrong.

    Happy Valentine’s Day, April. ā¤

  7. Gallivanta says:

    When you have done those tiles, would you like to start on my professionally installed cork tiles which are blistering after only 3 years!

  8. suzjones says:

    Well at least whilst you’re keeping busy, Agatha won’t have anyone to talk to. šŸ˜›

Comments are closed.