What will you do with your jelly bean?

Once in a while, I come across something posted on Facebook with some redeeming value. A friend of mine shared a video clip using jelly beans to demonstrate how many days we have in an average lifespan.

The pile was broken up into the total days we spend growing up, eating, sleeping, watching tv, doing chores, commuting, etc. After taking all the jelly beans which represent the number days spent performing life’s tasks, we are left with a small pile of beans for leisure time—fun time.

As much as I avoid going to the grocery store, I can add to my pile of having fun days. I don’t commute or travel far to the stores, so I can add some more beans to that same pile. If I quit showering, I can add even more beans.

However, I’m wasting jelly beans by worrying over way too much. The worry is stealing from my leisure pile of beans.

What the video came down to—if you only had one jelly bean left, what would you do with it?

That little video has made me go hmmmmm for days. I’ve also wondered how many of their beans the people used to make the video…which can be found here.

What will you do with today’s jelly beans?

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to What will you do with your jelly bean?

  1. aviets says:

    Interesting way to think of life. I know for sure what I’d do with that last bean – spend it goofing off with my three babies. I need more of those kinds of beans about now.

  2. Stare at the sunrise for an extra couple of seconds. Take some time to walk around instead of feeling like I need to work every second of each day I am in the office. Savor my tea a little longer. Send some random texts to people to brighten their day and let them know I’m thinking about them.

  3. mewhoami says:

    That video was both saddening and inspiring. I wonder how many beans I have left, and knowing that I’ve wasted many already, hope that I don’t waste many more. Stopping showering is an idea, April. That would save beans. πŸ™‚ Worrying less and smiling more is a great idea too!

    • April says:

      Worrying is probably the largest bean eater. I’m finding that things work out and spending a lot of time worrying about something I have no control of is taking what I have left.

  4. There’s so much I WANT to do!

  5. Gallivanta says:

    At the moment I am using far too many beans on decluttering…ARRRGH. Starting to wonder if it wouldn’t be better to make provision in my will for a professional organiser to deal with it all when I am gone. Then I can go out and enjoy myself NOW.

    • April says:

      I told my husband last night that the reason why I have difficulty putting things away is because I have too many things. He disagreed by saying that I simply need to put them away. I told him that if I didn’t have so many things, there would be less to put away. My plan is to declutter as fast as I can and go enjoy my jelly beans!

  6. suzjones says:

    I’d probably eat it! rofl

  7. Nice video. It’s always good to have a reminder not to squander our days away if we can help it. Not sure what I do with my last day. I’m feeling like it would have something to do with food πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.