Growth after devastation – Mount St. Helens

One of the most enjoyable discoveries I have made through blogging is reading about, and looking at photos from parts of the world and other states I haven’t had the pleasure of visiting. I really enjoy hearing about the customs of different countries and views about world events.

I have shared some photos of my current area of residence, but I thought I would share some of where I came from.

I spent most of my life in the state of Washington, and a small portion in the upper corner of eastern Oregon.

In 1980, Mount St. Helens…a volcano in Washington state erupted. The Wikipedia description is here, and for those who really get into scientific information, you can find it here, or many other places throughout the internet.

At the time Mount St. Helens erupted, I was in my early 20’s and living in eastern Oregon. The winds blew the ash to the north of where we were living. I don’t remember much about the actual eruption because I was living the life of a self-destructive, young adult.

It took me 29 years before I visited the area and was pleasantly surprised that so much was starting to come back to life.

This is Mount St. Helens before the eruption.download

This is not my photo. I borrowed it from a Wikipedia site. The remainder of the photos on this post are mine.

SONY DSC

To the left, the mountain after the eruption…29 years later.

The trees were wiped out and the river was turned into a huge mud flow. Today just a tiny trickle of a stream runs through the hardened mud that was once a river.

SONY DSCOn the way up to the visitor’s center, we were surrounded with trees planted after the eruption. This photo was taken from the car, and there is motion blur, but this photo is very close to what we were completely surrounded with. It made our eyes feel a little wonky.

SONY DSCWild flowers growing in the Blast Zone.

The following two photos show the trees that were knocked over by the blast.

(You may have to click on them)

SONY DSC SONY DSC

 And lastly, the type of humor my daughter and I giggle about.

I declared this as photographic art. 😀

SONY DSC

 We were reminded why feeding the wild animals might not be such a great idea.What a funny way to remind us.

(If you are inclined to read what the sign says, you will definitely have to click on the photo)

SONY DSC

Beauty, humor, life…it’s all around us. I have found hope after I believed there would never be any. Just as nature rebuilds, so shall I.

I hope you enjoyed seeing a part of the area which I still call home.

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Growth after devastation – Mount St. Helens

  1. What a come back. For both. 🙂

  2. mewhoami says:

    What a difference the eruption made to the mountain. Thank you for sharing the photos, although the last one made me a feel a little guilty for feeding our squirrels. 🙂 We have had a lot of forest fires here in the mountains and just like the new growth you’ve seen there, we’ve seen it here too. It’s an amazing thing to see and shows us that even through the volcanoes and fires of life, there is still hope.

  3. Elouise says:

    I remember this (the eruption) so well! It was horrific. I haven’t been to visit the immediate area, though, since it started coming back. Your post made me put it on my wish list for my next trip to Oregon! I loved the fire hydrant peeing post! And the beware sign for animals. The devastated forest is what it is. Sad.
    Elouise

    • April says:

      I found it sad how the mountain and the surrounding area was thickly forested. They show a wonderful video in the visitor’s center. I spent some silent time to remembering those who lost their lives. People can even hike the mountain, but I don’t think I will be doing that any time soon. 🙂

    • April says:

      Isn’t it? I have looked a photos of the devastation to that area, and really didn’t want to go stare at it. I’m kind of glad I waited, because the new life was very inspiring.

  4. Glynis Jolly says:

    It’s nice to see the growth. The last time I was in your home state was way before the eruption. I can’t help but be sad that the beautiful mountain has been reduced to a hill though. Yes, I know, everything changes at some point. and somethings are continually changing. Is the forest service letting people contribute plants to the area?

    • April says:

      I don’t know about the contributing to plants. We lived in the shadow of Mount Rainier–another volcano. Very beautiful country on the western side of the state.

  5. aviets says:

    I love the fire hydrant (killer irony) and the squirrel sign. Both appeal to my silly sense of humor!

  6. Gallivanta says:

    The notice to the squirrels is hilarious. Reverse psychology at work?

  7. suzjones says:

    It’s so amazing watching how nature regrows and rebuilds. I think sometimes we forget that we can do that too. 🙂

Comments are closed.