puddle jumping from topic to topic

Oh.

I have read some of my old posts. It’s amazing how many commas I find necessary to place in my sentences. My apologies to the punctuation police. As far as my sentence structure, made up words, dashes, and periods—all are intentional. It’s just my style.

Anyway, I was talking to my daughter the other day about what she is currently studying in college. She recently spent a week doing what is called clinical instructions for the registered nursing program. Last week was spent at the state hospital. Yes, the loony bin.

She had a desire to become a hospice nurse, but is now considering psychiatric nursing. Her classmates didn’t like this part of the nursing program—she did. Our discussion included the approach to talking with people suffering different forms of mental illness.

Words came from my mouth that I actually heard.

I told her that the patients seriously don’t want to be there. A lot of what they need is compassion, empathy, and validation.

Validation.

Mental illness is a real malady and nothing to be ashamed of. The approach to manage it differs from other forms of illnesses, that’s all.

It’s not created in our minds to seek attention. Perhaps there are some disorders which manifest themselves with attention grabbing actions, but the actions aren’t performed in order to manipulate. (I apologize Little Missy, but here is where I disagree with your instructors or the opinions of the psychiatric nurses you have talked to. It’s one of those take a walk in my shoes type of thing)

In my own experience, mental illness is accompanied by a lot of shame and self-hate. Unless it is a form of mental illness which totally engulfs the mind, there is a tiny flicker of knowledge that what we are experiencing isn’t normal or logical. So much pain and despair has taken our minds hostage that some of us look for any way to release the pain.

What do I know, I don’t study every type of mental illness and I’m not a professional.

…..off to another topic that is somewhat related…

My work space in the midst of depression. If I only knew how much worse I would become….

img_8466

A lull and an attempt at organization. I did manage to paint the room and replace the carpet. My theory was that if I took everything out of the room and only returned what was necessary, I would beΒ organized. Oh how wrong I was.

6K2A9340

Today.

6K2A2368

I have actually had it this way for over a week now. Yes, I’m still using the room but I’m a wee bit more on top of things.

I continue to have areas of massive disorganization that I have to work on—I must get off the computer and do them.

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
Image | This entry was posted in Thirty Random Days to Organized Chaos and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to puddle jumping from topic to topic

  1. aviets says:

    I really like your new paint color, and looks like great progress on organization!

    • April says:

      Thank you. I have a ton of painting to do but unfortunately, I’m going to stick to the bland neutral color it was to start with. We need to sell and are trying to get close to what we paid for it prior to the completion of the basement. We were naive when we purchased this house—right before the housing market crashed.

      • aviets says:

        Ouch. So are you still working toward moving to Father-in-law’s house in Missouri? And remind me what town that was – I almost think I was there recently, if it’s the one I’m thinking of.

        • April says:

          We finally own the house. I swear, they don’t move too fast in that town. The name is Butler—and yes, it’s creepy looking. There is a huge cowboy right off the interstate. I keep forgetting to take a picture of it.

          Yes, we will be moving. We are trying to get our youngest through college before we move on. I just can’t leave one of my children behind without being on his feet.

  2. Looking clean and tidy there πŸ™‚

  3. mewhoami says:

    That’s who the psychiatric nurses need to listen to – the people who’ve walked in the shoes that they are so busy trying to define. What better person to learn from than the one who actually knows? Your office is looking nice! Great job.

    • April says:

      The office will probably never be in an issue of House Beautiful, but I don’t feel as stressed in there any more. Oh, and as for psychiatric nurses, you’re right. I kind of feel the same about OB/GYNs–I always go to a female doctor because I can’t believe it’s possible for a male doctor to understand certain things.

  4. tric says:

    Wow great job with that room. No wonder your daughter favours psychiatric nursing, what a wonderful insight you have given her into it, ‘living’ with it, and learning to manage it.

    • April says:

      I have tried to hide what I deal with, but kids are pretty perceptive. She deals with anxiety problems, but I believe she is learning to manage them. One thing is for sure, she forms a goal and she reaches it.

  5. Gallivanta says:

    I am massively impressed by your tidied work space, and impressed that you painted it as well. And I never apologize to the punctuation police! If I want a comma, I want it. Poets get away with whatever punctuation they like, so we can too.

  6. Glynis Jolly says:

    That’s the way I want my office to look like. It’s beautiful.

  7. suzjones says:

    I’m loving your new workspace dear. πŸ™‚ It looks organised and professional. Much like I’d like mine to look but it rarely does. lol

    • April says:

      That is just a work space. No creative things happen there. Now those areas are disasters..and I make them bigger because I stash stuff all over the house.

Comments are closed.