minuscule accomplishments are still accomplishments

I want to write

I want to read

I must not dilly dally

I have people to feed

Okay, in all seriousness, I’m going to write with little editing. I have to catch up on blogs that I enjoy reading, and I do have a lot on my plate.

Recovery.

Crap, I don’t even know how to express what I want to say.

Something that I think was holding me back from embracing my recovery was facing the destruction my actions, or lack thereof, left behind.

I have a huge task in front of me, and I’m having difficulty knowing where to start. I’m spinning my wheels, and I’m hoping my therapist’s words will sink in and that I will find success…

…by doing one little thing, and the next, and the next…..

I have to admit that I’m focusing on that big picture, and I’m finding myself returning to the standard of berating myself because I’m not accomplishing anything.

I am accomplishing something!

It’s still early, but I got out of bed, fed the animals, and had several cups of coffee. To some, that is a routine. To others, that is an accomplishment.

The most beautiful thing I was met with this morning was sunshine! All week has been foggy and miserably damp, which reminds me of home in Seattle. However, I only need one day to remind me of home, it doesn’t take of week.

I’m off to set a priority, and a small step to reach the goal–the small goal. Then move on to the next goal. Rome wasn’t built in a day—or so the peasant says.

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to minuscule accomplishments are still accomplishments

  1. meANXIETYme says:

    It’s so difficult to remember that accomplishments can come in all different shapes and sizes. And that tasks can be broken into smaller, more manageable chunks. I always think I have to conquer THE BIG THING in order for it to be an “accomplishment”, but that’s another lie I tell myself. (among many)

    Good luck with every little thing!

    • April says:

      Thank you. I really hate looking at a list of a ton of little things to do. This one may be a challenge for me.

      • meANXIETYme says:

        Maybe if you split each list up? Like start with the big task, then break that up underneath into smaller tasks…and ONLY use that list for those tasks. Another BIG + little tasks go onto a separate piece of paper. So there’s not such a long list of items to look at?

        • April says:

          I’m trying a different approach. I’ve enlisted the help of my husband. He has set a task, and I am to finish before getting sidetracked. Yes, pitiful, I have to have a babysitter. But that’s okay. I’ll do anything that helps.

          • meANXIETYme says:

            Not pitiful at all. Sometimes we need help, and it’s good that you were able to ask for it.

            Think about the reverse…don’t you help HIM remember things? I do that all the time for my Hub who has ADD and has trouble concentrating or remembering to go back and finish a task. 🙂

  2. It’s how any great thing is done. One thing, little as it may be, at a time .

  3. Glynis Jolly says:

    You’re doing better than I am. I wish I could get myself to think like you do right now.

  4. I really do need a list because my memory and my anxiety issues,

Comments are closed.