Watching paint peel

Yesterday, I arrived at an appointment far too early—before the building was open. I forgot my phone, so I couldn’t read the book I had saved. I no longer carry a book in the car since I retired from my job as chauffeur to my kids.

So…what to do…what to do…

I maneuvered my car into a spot allowing the person next to me plenty of room to get into their car. I got out of my car to check to see if I ruined a tire and/or the rims when I miscalculated the arc of my turn as I rounded the corner and popped the curb.

That burned about 30 seconds, so I did what I do best. I observed the area. Next time, I will remember my camera.

The historic districts of any town are beautiful to me. Some of the places I’ve been to in the southern US have not been a disappointment. We have discovered that the household items we grew up with are called antiques, so I’m not exactly sure how old the buildings are in the part of town I was in. In its infancy, the population of the town mostly consisted of railroad workers, and they used wood for their buildings–which Sherman’s army burned as the North stomped through the South.

A wall in another old historic town. Paint peeling over painted brick. Interesting photos, right?:D

A wall from another historic town. Paint peeling over painted brick. Interesting photos, right? πŸ˜€

The building I parked next to was made of brick.Β There appeared to be a window, or perhaps the mortar was deteriorating and part of the building was damaged, but there was an obvious repair made to the building. Someone, who didn’t take pride in their work, slapped a crap load of mortar between the bricks in the opening, then the building was painted. The paint was peeling, showing the beautiful brickwork lying underneath.

I asked myself, why do people paint over brick?

6K2A1910b

A very sad job. The front painted gray, the side white. Obviously painted around a sign. *sigh*

My mind wandered back to the examples of beauty the man with the bison fur trench coat shared with us at our last club meeting. He had a couple of shots of some very beautiful women, and tweaked not only the exposure, but the skin tone, the shape of their eyes, the structure of their noses. He made them into his vision of beauty.

The kind of beauty that we feel compelled to emulate, because we are exposed to it everywhere we look.

True beauty lies underneath the perfect haircut, makeup, and the skinny jeans (omg, the designer of those should be boycotted). Underneath the acting as if everything is peachy, when we feel as if we are slowly dying inside.Β Allow yourself to be compassionate toward the inner you.

True beauty shines when all the paint peels away.

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Self-Esteem. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Watching paint peel

  1. aviets says:

    Don’t know about you, but I find it disturbing that someone would alter people’s photos that much. On a related note, last week all the seniors at a local private school received new student ID’s, and ALL of them had been photoshopped. Girls made thinner, noses “fixed,” freckles removed. It made the news, and rightly so. Supposedly it was an accident…

    One other thing – last time we had our house painted (it’s part wood and part brick) one painter who gave us an estimate wanted to paint the brick and was shocked when I said “NO WAY!” I love the contrast between the colors of the main wood, the shingles, and the red brick.

  2. mewhoami says:

    I love historic districts of small towns and wish we had more of those around here. I’m not a construction worker, but could they not just replace the brick? Wouldn’t that look so much better than the mortar and paint?

    • April says:

      oh, I may not have explained it correctly. The patch was about…maybe 5′ X 5′ or so. They used bricks, but the mortar is squished out of all the joints—not just a little, but a lot of excess mortar. They didn’t bother to clean it up and make it look nice.

  3. I went to school at Chanute AFB and White Hall where Weather Training was. Sadly that building is a dying ghost and I cannot help feeling that I am losing a friend.

  4. reocochran says:

    I like your ending, true beauty lies underneath, within us all. I also agree, Tracy, that people should not paint over brick. I have been so happy lately that the workmen have been blasting off the paint so there are advertisements now visable on the red brick of downtown buildings. They do look better than the slick paint, their weathered messages so interesting. I always point out the cute girl from the movie, “Dirty Dancing,” to friends. I liked her the way she looked before she got her nose job. Barbara Streisand and the girl from glee have beautiful voices and fine noses. Interestingly enough, some of the men who have distinguished noses (and prominent ones, too) stick with them. It adds ‘character,’ I think!
    “True beauty shines when all the paint peels away” could be on a poster and maybe you could make some money on it! smiles!

    • April says:

      πŸ™‚ We always seem to want to change things…I have a lot self esteem issues, but I’m learning to embrace a better self image.

  5. Is it weird that I like these pictures you put on here??????

    • April says:

      No. Every time I go on a photo walk, I always come home with of ton of photos like this. Rust is my favorite. Apparently, I’m drawn to this type of texture types.

      • I think that makes sense. There’s interesting things to see in texture and patterns. πŸ™‚

        • April says:

          There is. Also, one day….if I learn Photoshop, there are ways to use the textures in your photos it an artsy fartsy design is desired. At least I have a bunch to play with. πŸ™‚

          • I have no skills when it comes to photo shop. Though some day I may get in to that. I love the creativity I see people playing with photo shop. It’s fun stuff.

            • April says:

              It is, and I’ve seen some amazing photos. But, I’m kind of the type to hopefully capture what I see and feel without having to tweak it further.

              • That’s where I am. I can use basic edits on my computer, crop and black and white and saturate. But I love it when I take the picture and it’s what I saw which is why I took the picture to begin with. πŸ™‚

  6. Gallivanta says:

    My house has a brick facade. πŸ™‚ How lucky for us that you didn’t have a book. Such a lovely thoughtful post.

  7. Glynis Jolly says:

    You’ve given me the perfect come-back when someone asks me why I don’t wear makeup. πŸ˜›

    I do the same thing when I have to wait in a car. People that go by become more interesting in those moments.

    • April says:

      They do become more interesting. I kind of liked it because I had to sit still and notice what was around me. I don’t do that very often these days, and I need to correct that.

      I’m happy that I gave you a come-back. πŸ˜€

Comments are closed.