Trickery and accountability

Accountability has been a thorn in my side ever since my therapist mentioned it.

If I were born a Native American, my name would be Stomps With Foot Dammit—said in the language of the tribe which would welcome me.

My alter ego, Stomps With Foot Dammit asked, why can’t I just hold myself accountable? Why do I have to be accountable to someone else? It’s me that’s driving me crazy, why do I have to involve another?

We went through an exercise of defining my number one priority. Of course, that was my physical health. That was what drove me to seek her out in the first place–who knew I that I would find more than anxiety issues over cancer recurrence, and I’m so grateful that I did.

Anyway, after determining how I was going to go about getting healthy, she set up some homework for me. eye roll I was to choose some ridiculously small exercise goal for a certain number of days, and email her after I had accomplished each task. Which I did. I was honest, because that’s how I am.

However, Stomps With Foot Dammit continued to believe that I should be able to hold myself accountable, and not require the assistance of a babysitter. It’s a matter of how bad do I want it, and how far will I go to accomplish it.

My daughter and I have fitness trackers, and we are on a team of two. We encourage each other to eat healthy, get plenty of sleep, and perform the 10,000 steps that a healthy person should walk in one day.

First thing I did was make my goal number of steps each day far less than 10,000. Just think of how deflated I would get if I couldn’t attain that number each day. I would give up before I gave it a good chance.

The motivation to make the steps has been a wonderful incentive for me.

I don’t mind getting up and down over and over, to let the dog in and out. Instead of piling a stack of things to go upstairs and try to haul it all at once, I make the separate trips. I park in a spot farther from the door of the grocery store. Gotta rack up those steps.

Trickery.

To reward myself for accomplishing a task, I allow myself to indulge in knitting a row or two of my latest knitting project.

Now, the real test is how long I can keep this up?

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Trickery and accountability

  1. aviets says:

    I am SO impressed. Personal goal setting is something I’ve never been able to make myself do. And being accountable to someone else makes steam come out of my ears just thinking about it. But I can see how that could be so helpful…if I could just get over my own foot stomping.

  2. mewhoami says:

    You can do it. 🙂 It’s good for you, and you’re starting off small which is good so that you will not become discouraged. You never know where these small steps will take you.

  3. reocochran says:

    I am encouraging you, too! I believe setting a lower limit of steps and gradually working upwards is a great idea, plus a non-food reward. My girlfriend and I watch DVR’d show, “Elementary” on Fridays. I work a half day and she is retired. She will get up and walk around the room during commercials sometimes stretching upwards and pounding her fists in the air. I laughed at your Native American name, April! Somehow, I cannot see this fitting you! Ha ha! You have me fooled, right? smiles

    • April says:

      Thanks Robin! I’m nice and polite, but when I feel as if there is any injustice being done, I don’t mind stomping my foot to get my point across. 🙂

  4. suzjones says:

    Dear Stomps With Foot Dammit,
    You make me laugh. You also make me so very proud of all that you are setting out to do. Keep it up.
    Signed
    Hopeless in Australia

    • April says:

      No, no, no—not Hopeless! If I can pull up my bootstraps, you can too! We can slog our way through this! My huge fear is that all of this is temporary and the next time, hope will be completely lost.

Comments are closed.