Hearty family soup

Our little inner circle of the family began in 1988. My husband and I had created a well seasoned and balanced stock.

We added a potato.

We added a carrot.

We added a pea.

We kept it simmering in various sized pots.

Our stock became a very tasty soup.

So…why must I keep adding salt?

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Hearty family soup

  1. aviets says:

    Love that analogy. And wondering what salt you’re trying to add…

  2. Clever, April. šŸ™‚ And the soup may never be perfect, no matter what you add or try.

  3. Don’t beat yourself up too much April. Funny thing is, if we want to use analogy… I was in my forties before I truly enjoyed the true flavors of foods without having to flavor them/alter them. As parents I think we sometimes think we have to keep “helping” our carrots, peas and potatoes be better vegetables. When you’re right, vegetables are good all on their own. You seem to have learned that earlier than I did!!!!

  4. mewhoami says:

    Maybe after so long, the soup just needs an extra kick to liven it up again.

  5. reocochran says:

    I think this was a clever way of describing your children, they are individuals and you must allow them to season their own lives… smiles!

    • April says:

      It’s tough to keep my mouth shut if I see potential for hurt, but they have to learn on their own. All I can do is make a safe place for them to feel comfortable enough to talk to me.

  6. suzjones says:

    Glynis took the words right out of my mouth. Try adding another seasoning instead. šŸ™‚

Comments are closed.