Another Mother Role I’m Still Not Prepared For

We saw our daughter off this morning. I think I will get used to saying—see you later….

But I don’t.

The tenth or one hundredth time, is just like the first time I said see you later, while watching them toddle off.

We bring home our little bundles and know we have the responsibility to teach, love, and nourish them.

For me, the first bundle was scary.

The second, I felt more confident.

By the third, I knew I had the motherhood thing down, until I learned that not all babies are created equal.

We were excited over their first smile, the first time they roll over, sit up, stand up, walk, and eat big people food.

The day comes when we send them off to school–see you later.

The first time they are given the keys to the car for a solo ride–see you later.

They go off to college or the life path they choose–see you later.

We have kissed their boo-boos, wiped their noses, bathed, fed, and loved them. We glued broken toys back together, and helped them learn to develop strategies to solve a problem.

If we did a decent enough job, they grow to be well adjusted adults. I’m always astounded when I see something in my adult children I recognize from my parenting skills. Skills I have always doubted.

As adults, we can’t fix their broken hearts, their obstacles, their struggles. We have to know that we gave them the tools necessary to navigate adulthood, just as our parents gave us.

See you later…..still brings tears to my eyes.

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Another Mother Role I’m Still Not Prepared For

  1. I’m gonna have such a hard time with this. Thinking of you…

  2. Seriously, it was easier when they were little and we put them to bed every night. All in the same house.

  3. mewhoami says:

    I understand this completely, but from a daughter’s point of view. My mother and I still tear up every time we must leave each other. I don’t think it ever gets easier.

  4. aviets says:

    Oh, I know, I know, I know. I have a hard time even talking every time we take Oldest to the airport to go back to school, for fear of bursting into tears. Sending you hugs and strength.

  5. Gallivanta says:

    Hugs. It’s not easy.

  6. suzjones says:

    Wait until there are grandchildren April. Then ‘see you later’ comes with a sigh of relief. lol

Comments are closed.