#GivingTuesday – Part Two

Today is the day! #givingtuesday! But, if you are on the other side of the globe, you may have missed it. #givingtuesday is global giving day, and it can be time spent with, or doing something for someone–which is free—given any day.

My husband and I — well, mostly me, decided to donate in the names of our family and significant others, to organizations of their choice.

Here are the organizations that we have donated to today:

Make-a-Wish Foundation, Cure Alzheimer’s Fund,ย Heifer International, Strong Against Cancer, JDRF, Wounded Warrior Project, Doctors Without Borders, National Parkinson’s Foundation.

IMG_0728

For myself, I donated to the one closest to my heart, I’m excited about what they are doing. In honor of the day, they asked us to post a photo online of an #unselfie. The organization is called Stand Up 2 Cancer.

There are various reasons our family members have chosen these foundations. Some warm our hearts, some are adult/childhood cancer break through research foundations. Some are foundations researching diseases which have personally touched our family.

By the way—I’m still here! I have been busy de-cluttering, then I got sidetracked by doing some genealogy research, then I was sidetracked with Thanksgiving, and back to genealogy research. Cyber Monday was yesterday, and I had to take a gander to see what I was missing. Apparently nothing we can’t live without. Now…it’s working with the Christmas decorations, after the fake tree has been properly fluffed.

There is also the hourly feedings of my old fart cat. He has to eat small meals or he vomits, the veterinarian diagnosed him with hyperthyroidism 8 years ago, he now has kidney disease. Oh, and he has trouble with constipation (aren’t you glad I told you that?). Anyway, he receives medicine in his food, so I have to monitor him so that the other vulture-cats don’t nose him out.

Okay…now it’s time for binge-blog-reading.

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to #GivingTuesday – Part Two

  1. mewhoami says:

    Welcome back! The giving that you and your husband have done is so incredibly kind. That’s the holiday spirit! ๐Ÿ™‚ I am sorry to hear about your cat, and hope that the medication will be help him.

  2. reocochran says:

    I am so glad you included these fine organizations. I wrote a blog once on the StandUp2Cancer and have been a big supporter of Hospice Care. I believe in all of the ones you listed, particularly like to remember “Make A Wish,” too. Children are so often where my heart strings pull me… Hugs and thanks, April!

    • April says:

      Strong Against Cancer is to fund very promising treatments to cure Childhood Cancer. My daughter is going to school for nursing. She has plans to be a Hospice Nurse. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I didn’t hear enough about Giving Tuesday …. not compared to the shopping days!!!! So thank you!!!

  4. April, I saw this item and immediately had to send it to you for your useless items that you never needed posts.
    Utensils to dip your Oreos without getting your hands dirty! ๐Ÿ™‚
    http://www.zulily.com/p/cookie-dipr-set-105720-10237181.html?pos=48&e=1&fromEvent=105720&ns=ns_503487057|1417615502474

Comments are closed.