Please, take and take

At what point does financial and emotional support, being accommodating, friendly, kind, asking nothing in return–become being taken advantage of?

Is it when a person no longer acknowledges support, and comes to expect it?

Is it the willingness to always support in any way, as long as there is a need?

When the giver has nothing more to give, but the needy continue to show how helpless they are?

Is it when a person never speaks but always takes what’s offered?

Is it selfish to turn your back to those in need?

We can’t help the millions on earth, but there is one human, or one animal we can gift some type of support, and it will make a difference in their lives.

Wanting to support by giving freely seems pointless if it isn’t making a difference.

Perhaps there are no answers.

6K2A2037Individuals give in their own unique way, and their goodwill never fizzles.

Mine is fizzling.

However, I will take and take some beautiful nature anytime. I didn’t tweak any of these photos. The early evening sky created this type of light.

6K2A2049

 

 

 

The pink clouds were wonderful as well.

 

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Please, take and take

  1. meANXIETYme says:

    I don’t think there are generalized answers. There are only answers we can give ourselves. For me, once the giving becomes detrimental to me in ANY way, it’s time to pull back. It’s really difficult and I’m struggling with it all the time, and it feels HELLA selfish, but it really is self-preservation. I must do what is healthy for ME first, because when someone really needs me, I need to be healthy.

    And I LOVE your pictures!

  2. There are no definite answers…at least none anyone else can provide. Subjective situations are tricky like that. Lovely pictures šŸ™‚ I love when the sun is low and lighting is almost magical.

  3. aviets says:

    I’m glad you shared your photos – they’re so beautiful and peaceful. And it sounds like you are in need of some beauty and peace right now. I’m sorry this situation continues to be so difficult and unresolved.

  4. mewhoami says:

    I think that there are times when we must stop giving. Although it can be hard to do so, sometimes that is the only way that the person will learn to take care of themselves. When we give and they never change, but they still expect to be given to – that is what I consider being taken advantage of. Giving is great, when it’s giving. Not when it’s enabling.

  5. I’m glad you were able to take some comfort and joy from nature. You need to be able to refuel and take care of yourself. You deserve that April.

  6. Glynis Jolly says:

    When is it realized that the help isn’t helping in the way it was intended? I think it’s known instinctively. When the person doesn’t actually use what you’ve given him or misuses it, I think it’s time to walk away.

  7. Tracy says:

    Your pictures…and your words are perfect! Happy Thanksgiving April!!

  8. Elouise says:

    I’m wonder what you’re giving to yourself right now? I think the photos are gorgeous–and trying to tell you something. Well…they told me something anyway–how much I need to have nature’s beauty and time to enjoy it!

  9. reocochran says:

    I have not been able to capture the same beauty as your photos, but the winter must make some strange colors combinations, along with the cold air meeting warmth, since I have witnessed some awesome morning skies this past month or so! Your photos are gorgeous, April! I will always take from nature all its peace and beauty, too.

    • April says:

      We had some thunder storms that were making the outdoor light appear orange. I even tore myself away from the football game because the outdoors needed to be noticed.

Comments are closed.