Thoughts on parenting—or nonsense?

I’m going with the nonsense.

The garage door of shame we waited a month to have fixed, has now been installed, and I managed to caulk the joints and paint before it got too cold—except for the trim. The instructions on the paint can were to avoid painting if the temperatures fell below 40F degrees. It was going to be colder than 40, so IΒ placed that project on hold for a bit.

The door almost looks like the other door, except the fake fancy schmancy handles and hinges that adorn our garage doors. I don’t know who the builder was trying to fool, because the door obviously rolls up, it does not open like a regular double door, but I kind of like the added touch.

Each door has four hinges and two handles. On the door I smooshed in, one of the handles broke in two. I’m not sure if that was something I did, or if it was the repairman. To my surprise, the things are made of some type of ceramic or concrete material, not metal.

I had to go on a hunt for a new handle, but I took along a hinge just in case. My hunt consisted of one store because I refuse to drive all over the place to find what I’m looking for. The Home Depot is one of my favorite stores, so I went to the nearest one.

Guess what? Those smart companies which produce adornments for garage doors, do not package one handle for sale, one must purchase an entire set. The sets I had to choose from didn’t match the originals, so I had to buy two sets. I got close to the same shape as the original, but it would be quite apparent that the doors didn’t match if I only replaced the doodads on one side.

We also have a garage door for our cats to come and go to the potty zone in the garage. Our interior garage door isn’t up to code with the cat hole, because the door is fireproof in case a fire starts in the garage. A fire may make it through the walls and ceiling, but the door will still be standing. :/

We will have to replace the door when we move.

With the grandkitties and my cats, their weights range between 5.5 pounds to 18 pounds. The 18 pounder is part Maine Coon–he isn’t fat, he’s simply big, and has a ton of floofy hair. Here he is with our daughter.

416889_3218451057476_239135113_n

During the cold spell, the big guy dashed through the cat door, and broke the flap to the door completely off its hinges. All that frigid weather flowed into our house until my husband installed a door for Large cats.

For some odd reason, I felt better about myself for running into the garage door.

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Thoughts on parenting—or nonsense?

  1. mewhoami says:

    It is funny how the designers of garage doors make them all fancy looking when they’re just going to roll up anyway. But, it does make it look nicer than just a plain white door. Doodads – that sounds like me. πŸ™‚ That is a big cat, almost bigger than her! Sure would keep you warm snuggling during the winter time, I bet.

  2. aviets says:

    Wow, what a project! I’ve always loved the look of those doors with the handles that make it look like they open sideways. Such a nice touch.

    As soon as I saw the picture I thought “Maine Coon cat!” I’ve read about them in two different mysteries recently, but never seen one “in person.” Fascinating!”

    • April says:

      I guess he isn’t really the same size as a purebred. The parents of our daughter’s boyfriend, has 2. She says they are much larger. He was a rescue, and my preference is cats with short hair, but I love him anyway–mats, flying hair, and hair stuck to my clothing. πŸ™‚

  3. HOLY MOLY!!!!!!!!!!! That IS a fluffy cat!!!!

  4. Glynis Jolly says:

    The Maine Coon I used to have (she passed on at the age of 18) wasn’t as big as your but weight 23lb. Your cat is huge! They sure are a loving breed though. πŸ™‚

  5. suzjones says:

    Leave it up to the cats to make humankind feel better about themselves. lol

Comments are closed.