When the leaves finally fall

It’s pretty blustery today. I really don’t like these kind of days.

The other day, it was cold, the wind chill making it even colder. I was on the upside of frustration, and reminded myself to let it go for a few moments. The sun was out, and the sky was a perfect blue. I noticed the leaves gently falling from the trees, and thought I’d take a cool-down-time-out.

So…I grabbed one of the afghans I have knitted that is huge enough for some serious body wrapping. I sat on the deck and  watched the leaves fall. Beautiful and peaceful at the same time, a great way to release my frustration.

The moment ended after a relic discovered by the grandpuppy, was dropped at my side. The treasures she digs up are always met with trepidation. One of the Civil War battles was fought right around the corner-and-some from us. Our kids say our house in haunted, but I’ve never experienced any unusual happenings. Who knows, maybe some of the troops walked the land our house is built on.

The relic she found was an old, rotten, smelly tennis ball. She ended up with a good lesson in patience as I made her sit while I brushed her teeth.

I wish I had a picture of the leaves gently falling because it was so beautiful. I’ve tried to photograph falling leaves. If it can be done with the background blurred at the same time, in order to see the leaves suspended in air, I haven’t discovered the technique yet.

Now—for today.

What can I find beautiful? I hope you find something.

Oh! Wait! WordPress has given me a photo. 🍃

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to When the leaves finally fall

  1. aviets says:

    Oh, I love falling and fallen leaves. So beautiful and peaceful. Smelly old tennis ball, not so much. 🙂

  2. mewhoami says:

    It’s always interesting what dogs can find, and sometimes a bit disturbing too. 🙂 It would be so beautiful to be able to capture leaves as they fall. I was trying to do that with the snow the other day, but couldn’t get it like I wanted. Maybe next time. That’s a cute leaf at the bottom that WP gave you.

  3. WP pulls through for us again! Lovely photo. 😉 ANd a lovely few moments for yourself. Well done April.

  4. reocochran says:

    Leaves that are so brightly colored and their falling makes me happy, too, April. The Spring flowers peeking their heads out, though, April, may make me even happier. Knowing that winter is ending… instead of just beginning! I scraped 3 inches of ice off this morning while it was almost pitch black out. I am not complaining, though, just my thoughts about winter have been not as pleasant since this occurrence. Smiles for the tennis ball and love how you call these things she finds, “relics,” April! Also, “grandpuppy” makes me smile!

    • April says:

      She’s quite the treasure hunter. And the grandpuppy also has the energy as a 2-year-old. She wears me out keeping track of what she is up to.

  5. HappyApathy says:

    Take it on antiques road show, you never know. Maybe Grant or Lee played a few sets between battles. Maybe they played each other!

  6. Glynis Jolly says:

    I’m shocked, April. You thought it was cold? Come on now. You’re from the northwest. You know what real cold is. 😛

    • April says:

      Actually, I would have been fine except for that darn wind that chills you to the bone. Yesterday it was 31 degrees Fahrenheit here. I had to run some errands, and while I was out, I decided to stop at a shop I don’t buy from, but I snoop for crafting ideas. I was wearing a T-shirt with no coat, shopping among the women in their beautiful winter coats and parkas. Did I receive any funny looks? Don’t know, but it didn’t seem like 31.

  7. suzjones says:

    Reading you describe sitting wrapped up nice and warm and just enjoying watching the leaves fall made me instantly jealous whilst I sit here with in the early morning with the ceiling fan going flat out and a towel under my backside to stop me sliding off my chair…. lol

Comments are closed.