52 Weeks to improve my life

This will be a challenge for me because it’s 52 straight weeks. I’m struggling to accomplish thirty random days to accomplish a goal.

My friend Sue, over at It Goes On is working through a book of 52 weeks to improving your life. You can read her description of the process to reach the goal of improving your life, here. She is a kind soul, and describes the exercise far better than my foggy brain can at the moment. Anybody wanting to work along with us are welcome, you don’t have to feel pressured to blog about it, do whatever feels right for you.

Since I can only go up from here, I thought I would participate along with her. The exercises are intended to help be the best you, and to learn to love and accept yourself.

The first week’s task is to list 25 things that we have accomplished over the past year that have grown us as a person or can be seen as positive in some way.

It’s a huge challenge for me because for every accomplishment I wrote down, my mind followed with a but. I must start somewhere, and this is it.

1) I made it through more than a year long bout of depression. I learned a lot about myself in the process.

That should be a big enough list, because this was a monumental task for me.

But I did it. 😀

I can’t actually come up with 25 accomplishments, but I figure whatever number I reach is a step forward.

2) I flew in an airplane not under the influence of anxiety medications.

3) I was able to support my husband when he lost his father this year. I thought I was drained, but I pulled through for him when he needed me most.

4) Went on a couple of photography group events, learning some new techniques, and tips to improve my skills.

5) I have overcome quite a bit of my anxiety, and I continue to learn to talk my way through triggering events.

6) I forgave someone I should have a long time ago.

7) I accepted grief for what it is, and how to live in spite of our losses.

8) I took charge of my own mental health care, I have been a compliant patient, and have learned just how strong my determination is.

9) I finished knitting a blanket for one of my loaner grandkids. I mailed it too!

10) I gained 8 pounds. Not very encouraging, but a reminder to me to use that grazing time for more positive actions.

11) I got out of bed every day.

12) I set some long-term goals.

13) I started to hear what others are saying. Listening wasn’t enough.

14) I completely uncluttered one room and painted it, as well as painted one bathroom.

15) I organized my yarn hoard.

16) I learned some new photography post processing techniques.

17) I reminded myself to continue to look for beauty each day.

18) I lived one more year with no evidence of disease–doctor talk for cancer free.

After number 1, number 11 on my list was a huge accomplishment. It meant that I didn’t give up. Number 18 is a gift.

I have grown to understand that I am a worthy person. I had a bunch of nasty negative thoughts I had to let go of. In the words written by A. A. Milne, I’m braver than I believe, stronger than I seem, and smarter than I think.

 

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to 52 Weeks to improve my life

  1. aviets says:

    Well done! I love your list.

  2. Sounds like a very positive endeavor, I wish you nothing but success with the process 🙂

  3. meANXIETYme says:

    Excellent list! Your #19 is that you’ve touched other people’s lives by sharing your journey. 🙂

  4. tric says:

    Well done you. It can be so easy sometimes to forget how well we are doing because we don’t always feel it.
    How did you feel when you finished your list? Did you feel proud, or could do better? Just wondering.

    • April says:

      Semi-proud, I know I have more, but it’s been buried under so much negativity for so long, I think it will take the entire 52 weeks 😀 I’m looking forward to the opportunity to explore some more. Thanks for the thought provoking questions. It is the feeling we receive from our accomplishments, otherwise they’re just words on a page. I can do better.

  5. April!!!! What a list!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Bravo Bravo Bravo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂

  6. Safe.Amanda says:

    wow April, that is a great list, and a great start! Maybe I should try along with this!

    • April says:

      I know the person I’m most hard on is myself. It this can take me to a place where I think I’m not that bad, I’d be happy. Try it!

  7. Gallivanta says:

    That’s a very fine list. 🙂

  8. Glynis Jolly says:

    Your accomplishments inspire me, April. I really do need to work on myself. I just have to find that way to start.

  9. Tracy says:

    A great list and so much to be grateful for! You have accomplished much!!!!!! ❤️

  10. Pingback: List Of Accomplishments…Sort Of | Safe.

  11. April, this is wonderful. You have accomplished a great deal more than you or others may realize.

  12. mewhoami says:

    Those are some great accomplishments! Many things to rejoice over.

  13. suzjones says:

    What an awesome list!! Congratulations. I’m so very proud of you dear.
    And thanks for joining me on this journey. As I refuse to read further into the book, I doinot know what the next step is just yet. So it will be exciting for us all. 😉

  14. suzjones says:

    do you like my new word ‘doinot’? Got to love typing faster than your brain thinks right? I believe that was ‘do not’. 😉

Comments are closed.