this old dog is seriously trying to learn new tricks

As I continue with my 30 random days to organized chaos, this is not a progress report.

I have made zero progress, however I have leaned new tricks to avoid and procrastinate. I’ll have to say, many of my excuses are pretty creative.

I have also learned that I must have paper lists, sticky notes, and my little daily note cards that I can visually watch disappear as I accomplish a task. I know I haven’t tried every App available , but I’m certainly unable to follow the routine I’ve set for myself via computer.

Brain farting at its best.

Computer distraction at its best.

ADD at its best.

April at her worst, but determined to find a system that works.

 

 

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Thirty Random Days to Organized Chaos, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to this old dog is seriously trying to learn new tricks

  1. aviets says:

    Just think – you may the the procrastination champion of the world! Own it! 🙂

    I currently have about 9 craft projects in mid-completion, and they’re cluttering up what should be a very attractive corner in our basement living room. I keep finding projects I like better, and ditching the old ones. So you are in good procrastination company.

    • April says:

      Yes, I’m April, and I’m a procrastinator. But I don’t want to be! So far, the paper thing is working well. Apparently I have to remember to put give the animals their medicine, because I forgot that before going to bed.

  2. revgerry says:

    My dear soul sister, because my eyes hurt and I have had to ditch the computer for times, I have succeeded in deep cleaning 1/5 of my bathroom, discarding everything on my side of the sink I wasn’t using! Except the stuff i put in a box to decide on later, lol. Yeah for me!! At this rate, it’ll be all the way through the house in about 5 years and ready to tackle the garage. (NEVER!) And I have so many windows open on my computer even I can’t remember why. sigh.

    Onward! We SHALL prevail.
    hugs, gerry

  3. mewhoami says:

    I’m with you on the sticky notes and daily to-do lists. As I finish each task it gets marked off. Then at the end of the day…or week, it gets thrown away. There is so much satisfaction in throwing those lists away. Can’t really do that with my smart phone. 🙂

    • April says:

      True, but I did find an App that once it’s checked off, it disappears. Nice feature, I’m just having a hard time relying on it. :/

  4. I like how you are systematically working through all of the things getting in the way. Well done! Get through them and then get rid of them!!! 😉

    • April says:

      I’m trying to keep myself from becoming overwhelmed. Right now, I’m just doing and not thinking about it. Thanks for the encouragement, Colleen.

  5. Glynis Jolly says:

    Don’t be so hard on yourself. Many people have cognitive problems. The only reason why you don’t know that they have them is that they’ve polished the skill of hiding these issues. ❤

    I think there's a strong connection between handwriting and memory. I was instructed by my occupational therapist to use it as must as I can. I was told to make out a schedule every day, and not make it out before each day. It was to be handwritten and as detailed as possible. It got to the point where after writing down what I was doing that day, I didn't need to look at the schedule again and just had to write out a new one the next day.

    Now, you have gone one step farther with the flashcards. It's really quite clever of you. 🙂

  6. suzjones says:

    I am back into my studies and I’ve just been doing ‘goal setting’. Did you know that the best way to accomplish a goal is to write it down. Physically write it down. Not using the computer or an app but the old fashioned pen and paper.
    Those who write and review their goals regularly are more likely to achieve them.
    So stick with the sticky notes (see what I did there? 😛 ) and the lists. You’ll achieve what you you wish to.

  7. I’ve tried various note taking apps and still revert back to paper. There’s something about actually writing out the tasks, or notes that makes me feel like I’m doing something. And then they are there, in your face, taunting you when you don’t get any crossed off, which happens pretty frequently. One of my tasks today is to buy Tofurkeys for Thanksgiving. All I have to do is go online, click a few buttons and type in a few numbers. We’ll see if this is completed before 5 p.m. today…

    • April says:

      There are some benefits to electronic devices. I set alarms all the time with my cell,and will probably continue to do so. Same with a timer so that I don’t linger on the computer too long. It works sometimes. 🙂

  8. reocochran says:

    I try to stay caught up on things, but I am always running around in circles, it seems. I don’t have time to procrastinate, except for relaxation! I wish for more time in the day, April! I like when you write about what sidetracks you, those posts are both funny and interesting!

    • April says:

      I used to worry myself over insomnia, but other than what lack of sleep does to anyone’s mood, I could use an extra few hours a day.

Comments are closed.