Jibbering

Just a little rambling while playing musical dogs. This is what I call the separation of one old Mastiff, and one exuberant 1-year-old Australian Shepherd (apparently the small size). We switch between cage, outdoors, and living among the humans. A herding type dog, which we are trying to train to stop nipping at our heels, is not very wise when she nips at the heels of a 110 pound dog with strong legs and a jaw that could engulf exuberant dog’s head. Our mastiff may be old, but she still has bursts of strength which has taken me off my feet, dragging me on the ground in her wake.

Recently, I read a question on a blog, a Facebook post–not really important. The question was do you talk to yourself?

I used to talk a lot inside my mind with poisonous words such as, what a freakin’ idiot you are, you can’t do anything right, you’re a failure, nobody cares what you say.

And on it went until I learned to block those thoughts and replace them with positive thoughts–or what I haveย accomplished. I can tie my own shoes–victory!

However, I do talk to myself, sometimes not realizing it. When I have my orders for the grocery shopping mission—get in-get out, I will quietly say to myself, okay, what’s next. I follow my orders, which are written according toย where things are locatedย in the store. It shortens my mission. I’ve learned from my wise therapist this could be considered obsessive behavior–hmmm–don’t care.

Anyway, the question has been on my mind because I also talk to my cats as if they can understand me. I guess it makes me feel better that I’m actually talking to a breathing being.

While on my recent grocery mission, scanning the shelves quickly to find what I needed, I heard the woman behind me speaking to herself. Not so quietly either.

I almost laughed out loud, making my mission a little more pleasant.

How about you, do you talk to yourself out loud?

 

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Jibbering

  1. reocochran says:

    I talk to myself on my job and at home, aloud. I whisper my thoughts, sometimes to remember something to do after work, or in my apartment! April, so far no one has ‘heard’ me, but I guess as I age, I care less of how it appears. I am not sure I would talk aloud in the grocery store, though! ha ha! I liked this post’s beginning, telling about the shifting of the dogs!

  2. mewhoami says:

    All the time! I’m constantly talking to myself. At home, in the car, and in the grocery store. Sometimes I catch myself, sometimes others do, and almost never do I care. ๐Ÿ™‚ I keep myself entertained, so I don’t see the problem. Ha!

  3. meANXIETYme says:

    I talk to the dogs in lieu of talking to myself out loud. Now that internal conversation…that’s one I’m still working on because it’s rarely innocuous.

    • April says:

      Some of my internal conversation which are spoken out loud are usually summed up by a few choice words. In a whisper, of course ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. Often. And my dogs listen with great interest. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. It has happened….. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. aviets says:

    All the time! And I talk to whatever machine or computer or pile of food or laundry I happen to be working with. It breaks up the boredom. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • April says:

      I talk to my sewing machine a lot. I also hold up a lot of my inner dialogue and release it on my husband…who doesn’t seem to hear very well.

      • aviets says:

        Oh my goodness – I think I do that to and never realized it!

        • April says:

          Talk to your sewing machine, or hold it all in? ๐Ÿ™‚

          • aviets says:

            No, spill my internal conversation to my husband! Maybe that’s why he’s so confused every time I talk to him…

            Actually, on the rare occasions when I get my sewing machine out I speak to it with mostly four-letter words. It probably hates me by now.

            • April says:

              I think I confuse my husband too. And yes, four-letter words spew from my mouth while trying to sew. I have special words for that thing.

              my mouth while trying to sew.

  7. I do in the car, when I’m alone. Usually if there are other people around I try to do nothing more than mumble under my breath.

    • April says:

      Yes, the car. I talk while driving quite a bit, but it’s usually directed at one of the inconsiderate drivers of other cars. Mostly, everything else is under my breath too. According to my husband, everything I say is spoken too softly. Whatever, he can use that as an excuse for not being able to hear.

  8. Glynis Jolly says:

    Yes, I do talk to myself out loud. It’s usually when I’m sitting right here at my computer. ๐Ÿ˜›

    • April says:

      The funny thing…I think the question was in a forum, talking about depression. I giggled a little when I read it because I don’t think talking to oneself is a precursor or an indicator of a mentally unstable person. I think we all talk to ourselves.

  9. suzjones says:

    All the time!
    It has got to the point in our home where the GG says to me “Are you talking to me or to yourself again? If you’re talking to me, then please speak up a little”. lol

  10. Safe.Amanda says:

    I am constantly telling myself out loud that I am fine, that there is nothing wrong with me. Then I turn to the dog and tell her that Mommy is having a panic attack and thats ok… โค

  11. Cathy Bohlae says:

    I do and very well thank you….best way to get an intelligent conversation. And I have also taught my co workers how to do this also…..

    • April says:

      LOL! I had to really work on stopping what I was doing because it was all the negative things about myself that I would whisper aloud. Good for you for teaching your co-workers well. ๐Ÿ˜€

  12. Gallivanta says:

    Sure I do. I talk to the dog and the cat and the washing machine as well. The flowers get a lot of talking to, as well as the bees. Gets quite noisy around here.

Comments are closed.