I have a wee confession to make

Recently, a person I have been following since their first blog post, and they came along during my phase of the empty nest boo hooing, stopped communicating with me. I read their blog and commented, and heard nothing back.

This person wasn’t visiting my blog. How did I find out? Well, for one thing, I don’t have as many blog followers as the number tells me I have. I went through the list of followers. I found many who no longer had blogs, many with over 20,000 followers and still wants more people to follow? I found the blogs that try to lure me into trying to make money off my nonsense. But this fellow blogger wasn’t on the list. The little OCD person in me checked three or four times.

I felt hurt, and read some of my recent posts to see how I could have offended this person. I let it invade my thoughts for days.

It has happened to me before. I think I’m following a blog, not seeing anything, believing they are on a blogging holiday, until I do some research. Yes, they were posting, but for some reason, I wasn’t following them.

It’s happened again, and maybe it happened to the person I had daily contact with, and wondered what I did. But I’m not going to ponder over it any more.

So……if y’all see me follow your blog again, honestly, I didn’t do anything. I can barely manage the technology beyond typing words, publishing them, and commenting on other blogs.

You never know…some things happen with no explanation. Worrying about it is useless.

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to I have a wee confession to make

  1. mewhoami says:

    This recently happened to me. Someone who used to comment on my blog all the time, suddenly stopped a few weeks ago. I was curious why just like you. Come to find out, there was some sort of glitch and they had no idea that they were no longer following me. They thought I was the one a break. All is worked out now and we’re blogging friends again. πŸ™‚ So, it could just be a glitch.

  2. mewhoami says:

    “one a break?” That was supposed to read, “one on a break.”

  3. I’ve noticed several blogs I follow had fallen off my list, I think it’s just a wp glitch or perhaps an accidental hover on the screen too close to the follow button that gave wp the impression you were trying to “unfollow” who knows. It happens, you’re not alone in that particular issue. Constant vigilance is needed apparently.

  4. Worrying about it is useless. Exactly! Simply choose to let it go. And move on with what really matters in your sphere. πŸ™‚

  5. I understand what you mean, but I decided that what ever happened, well happened. I wasn’t going to chase. If I fell out of facour, or could not write what they fancied, then it was simply too bad. I try to follow the people I follow ( a mouthful I know), but at times, like you, I get busy, or ill, or like now, a tad blue. It’s a struggle and for those unwilling to accpet I’m human I can do nothng about it. I’m me, human frailties and strengths, but I can be hurt by thoughtless words. So, rather than try to get them to return, possibly reluctantly, I will just blog and see what happens.
    Vulnerability can only take so much and I’ve been a tad battered of late. I value those who remain and I try to keep up with these people. Not an answer but my thoughts April.
    Blessings Susan ❀

  6. I wish I could edit….. my jargon I hope you can read. Yoda infecred πŸ™‚

  7. I have found myself randomly unfollowing others blogs and some who gave randomly unfolloeed mine. I think a couple of things happen, one is a glitch in the program. Two, the “like” and “follow/unfollow” button are right next to one another. Surely I and others have unwittingly unfollowed each other. They need to fix that. But the not responding to your comments? Oh well….it may totally be their problem. πŸ˜‰

  8. Jenna Dee says:

    I wouldn’t worry too much. People come in and out of our lives for all sorts of reasons. Just enjoy each day. Love Jenna πŸ™‚

  9. tric says:

    I too have been caught out with this on more than one occasion. I found it embarrasing, as one of my blog buddies was going through a really hard time and when she commented on my blog I asked her was all okay but as it turns out she had been writing all along.
    Sometimes it can be hard if I miss a few days blogging to catch up on all I have missed, but I do try… lIke now!

  10. revgerry says:

    Life has a way of taking care of things like this. I figure the right people will find me and I will connect with the right people for me. There are SO MANY of us. I’ve met some really great people on line, and since joining this community I have met more. I have, however, gone to seek out some of the folks I had built relationships with after my own breaks from blogging, just to check in.

  11. Gallivanta says:

    It’s usually just a WP glitch. I haven’t unfollowed anyone on purpose but it has happened that I have somehow become an ‘unfollower’.

    • April says:

      Stinkin’ Technology

      • Gallivanta says:

        Here’s a funny story. I just noticed something. I had about 853 followers the other day. I have suddenly lost about 50 of them!!! No idea who or why.

        • April says:

          When I went through my puny list, and came across sites with over 20,000 followers, I had a suspicion they weren’t reading mine. How could a person keep in contact with that many people? Leave the comments off? Anyway, I assumed they didn’t necessarily read my blog, those I deleted.

  12. aviets says:

    April – Just got your email, and I am HORRIFIED that somehow I’ve missed a couple of months of posts from you. And I haven’t been seeing any comments from you on my posts, so I was terribly afraid you’d been very ill. I can’t tell you how relieved I am to know you’re okay and still out there. I see by looking at the bar at the top of the page that for some unknown reason I’ve not been following you. I am fixing that RIGHT NOW. I’m just devastated to think you thought I’d abandoned you. I love your posts, and truly count you as one of my best blogging friends. Please forgive this awful, unintentional mistake.

    I guess the only good thing about this terrible situation is that now I have a couple of months of catching up on your posts to look forward to.

    Much love, -Amy

  13. aviets says:

    Follow up: There! I’ve got you back in my reader. And again, I can’t tell you how relieved I am that you’re okay, and how thankful I am that you had the courage to reach out to me in an email. I think if I felt rejected by someone I had counted on as a friend I might not have the guts to make that move. Once again, your courage blows me away.

    Now the question is…why did I not see any of your comments on my posts? It’s almost as if there was an evil entity out there messing around with my blog! But all’s well that ends well, I hope.
    -Amy

    • aviets says:

      I’ve just caught up with all your writing that I missed – with all those “likes” I just hit I hope you don’t feel like I’m stalking you now…would have commented on many of those posts, but looks like you have comments turned off. Just have to say again, boy have I missed you!

    • April says:

      You know, I’m a retard. Sorry, that isn’t very politically correct, but that’s what I am. And maybe I didn’t make comments, but I noticed you weren’t making comments. Either way, I’m glad this is all straightened out. And…I took the chicken way out and un-followed you. Then I found that this morning I had some comments from people I hadn’t seen on my reader or heard from–I didn’t un-follow them, so I thought that may be the case in this instance. That’s why I sent the email.

  14. aviets says:

    You are SO not a pest. I’ve missed you tons,and so glad to have you back in my blogging life. I want to know how the trip to Missouri went in October (did you go?). Every day of October I looked at the weather forecast and wondered if it was too hot for you when you were here because I’d told you to expect a high around 70. Good grief, you probably think I’m totally weird because I was thinking of you constantly but didn’t manage to figure out how to get in touch with you. I think my self-confidence is even worse than I ever suspected, because I was afraid if I tried to reach out to you you wouldn’t even remember who I was.

    Can’t wait to catch up on all your posts tonight – that will keep my focused on something enjoyable while I’m watching what I’m terribly afraid will be upsetting election returns.

    • April says:

      Well, by trying to fix things, I deleted my comment. But yes, I was a chicken, and I have to grow up sometime and get over insecurities. Anyway, the trip was fine. We thought–or rather I thought–that it would be a great chance for my husband and I to have a little alone time without the daily distractions and animals. But, he worked the entire time, so I knitted and attempted to remove more wallpaper. I’m glad we went because we just had a new roof put on, and it rained pretty hard when we were there. Found 5 leaks in the roof, and the roofer came right out to fix it. So glad we caught it then and didn’t go through the winter with a big mess to clean up in the Spring. By the way…how could I forget you?

      • aviets says:

        Oooh, speaking of knitting, I recently taught myself to knit with double-pointed needles (with some help from Youtube). I’m pretty pleased with myself and have been wanting to share that with you! Okay, now I’m sounding like a total dweeb.

        • April says:

          No, you aren’t. It took me a while to master double pointed needle knitting. My first pair of socks were too funny. They weren’t exactly the same size. Then I knit a whole bunch of baby hats to donate to hospitals–a whole bunch. That sharpened my skills tremendously. I’m proud of you!

          • aviets says:

            Thanks! I’m doing boot cuffs – those cute things that are not quite leg warmers, and they stick up out of the tops of long boots. I had the first one finished (with quite a few mistakes built in) and then I cast off wrong so that it wasn’t stretchy enough. Had to toss it. Now I’ve made two sets that look great. Can’t wait to wear my pair tomorrow, and to make some for Christmas gifts.

      • aviets says:

        I’m glad your trip wasn’t a loss. And what a nice surprise to come across a reliable and responsible roofer. Hoping you and your husband got a little time together, at least and that there was plenty of productive knitting going on. πŸ™‚

  15. reocochran says:

    This has happened to me more than once, along with someone confessing they accidentally unfollowed me. I don’t let it worry me too much. I don’t know how many people follow me, but I have followed up to as many as 600 blogs. I am starting to unfollow some who for ten or more of my posts, have not pressed like or commented. I guess it is just to help me have a less cluttered email inbox. I had collected way too many of these people who ‘entice’ me by writing once or twice, then voyage on to catching others in their numbers.. I am a little ‘jaded’ but still love my regulars and somewhat irregular visitors. I don’t sometimes have time to comment, but usually like every post you take the time to write, April! Hugs!

Comments are closed.