Visitors from Heaven

I have blogged about the container I keep the pennies I find in awkward places. This type of stuff happens when I feel I want to give up.

I started finding 2013–the bright shiny pennies, the year of my sister’s passing, in odd places as well. Yes, I’m crazy, but I’ve already established that. 😀

My visits from Heaven.

These moments give me encouragement just when I need it. They make me stop, breathe, and remind myself to persevere. I smile, place my found pennies in the jar, and remember their words of encouragement.

While working in the yard, which I haven’t done in a long time, and is one of my favorite places to just be, I would be met by a yellow butterfly–always.

Stuff 'em Down Okay, just go with this…I know there are a ton of yellow butterflies, but I like to think that the one that sits on a branch right by me for a very long time, is reminding me it’s time to be. The butterfly reminds me of who I am, and what I can do to improve my growth. It’s my dad letting me know he has my back.

Since I usually have racing thoughts, when I do something that may cause injury, I focus on every movement I make. In other words, I don’t let my mind continue to wander this-and-that way, I think before I take that first step on or off a ladder.

I’m the girl with her skirt tucked into her panties, totally unaware, I kid you not. The girl who tried to maneuver a hill with high heels and books in her hands and trips in front of many classes in session–head first. I have no clue what my skirt did, and I don’t want to know.

The girl, who can fall down hollow stairs to get some lunch from the restaurant next door. Cream of broccoli soup was my choice for lunch that day. My choice that day was also to wear a black suit and high heels. I became the day’s entertainment for the drivers of the busy street, returning to my office without lunch because I was wearing it. Closed my office door only to remember the lesson why it’s not smart to open the top drawer of a huge file cabinet, and then open the bottom drawer.

I have many stories of my lack of gracefulness. What does that have to do with visits from my loved ones?

While painting the front window, a blue butterfly flitted around me and came to rest. The thing sat there quite a while.

6K2A1544It would be just like my sister to remember the yellow butterfly story, so she would sit there as a blue one. Waiting for me to notice. I was at the top of the ladder contemplating whether or not to grab my camera.

With each step down the ladder, I reminded myself what I was doing, move slow and maybe the butterfly will be there after I retrieve my camera. I made it down the ladder safely, but took the one step – well, actually 2 steps – up onto the porch. I completed the first step and was continuing to be hopeful the butterfly would be there when I returned with my camera

I tripped on the second step and fell spread eagle on the brick porch. I breathed a sigh of relief that I didn’t have my camera yet, but I wasn’t completely void of bruises and road rash–or maybe it would be called porch rash. No high heels were involved.

Got the camera, and guess what? The butterfly was gone. That, of course, was what I expected.

I looked around and found it on another bush, and of course it flitted away to a tree in our front yard, so I captured the underside.

This visit from my sister, reminding me to look outward and quit stewing on the inner turmoil. The one who listened to me bitch about something, and her response would always be—then change it, or turn it into something you love.

Yes, she would have made me work to snap this picture while watching me humiliate myself during the process. She was wise, but a sister-sister relationship is full of impish behavior.

Bad sense of humor, Barbara.

Really bad.

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Visitors from Heaven

  1. Safe.Amanda says:

    I love it! I don’t live in an area with flowers around and each day I do see a butterfly in my backyard- I always say “hi Mom”…it’s just one of those things… ❤

  2. mewhoami says:

    I love this! It’s so wonderful how those little signs come up at just the right time. Such a good reminder to enjoy life, from those who love you. I wholeheartedly believe in those signs from lost loved ones. Your sister sounds like such a terrific, lovely and inspirational person. She will always be with you. Also, I love her advice – “then change it, or turn it into something you love.” That is brilliant. On a selfish note, this post made me smile today. Thank you. I really needed that.

  3. reocochran says:

    I believe in heavenly messages, April. I am so happy you feel this way about the sight of a gentle butterfly, sending you angelic thoughts of your dear, beloved sister. When my Grandpa M. passed away, I lay on my bed, aged 23 crying because I had plans to take my 6 month old daughter to bless him, make him feel loved as a Great Grandpapa, along with my being the oldest daughter. I had the plane travels made, but called the hospital in Arizona, only to have my Mom tell me he had just died. There was a bright red cardinal that tapped on my window. April, I felt a warmth and comfort from this, like a message from my Grandpa! I wrote about this, like you did here. It is wonderful to have this connection… hugs, Robin

    • April says:

      When my dad passed, I had a plane ticket out to see him. I missed by about 18 hours. My sadness came from the fact that nobody was with him other than the nurses. I don’t have guilt over that, necessarily, but I am thankful for the pennies and the butterflies. 🙂

  4. I love the messages you receive! And imagine that those who send them are delighted you are not ignoring them or dismissing them as ‘nothing’. And the embarrassment? I don’t see anything to be embarrassed about? 😉

  5. Gallivanta says:

    Sisters! Wherever they are, you gotta love them. They know how to get to you. 🙂

  6. Glynis Jolly says:

    Yes, I believe I understand what you are getting at. It’s just like in my post you read recently, Time to Go (http://speculationsimpressed.wordpress.com/2014/10/17/time-to-go/) To know that you have that connection with someone beyond this life is amazing and such a comfort.

  7. Tracy says:

    This is beautiful April❤️ Mine come in the form of heart shaped rocks. I like to think they are signs to let me know I’m heading in the right direction. Thank you for sharing this!

    • April says:

      Thank you Tracy, I like that! I have been spending far too much time stuck. Not in the past, just stuck inside my mind. These little reminders comfort me when I’m having bad days. I need to start looking outward and forward. I’d bet I’m missing some signs.

Comments are closed.