No Xanax required

When I make a snafu, I enjoy the big ones. After the phase of beating myself up for being such an idiot, there is time for laughter.

I’m actually flying. Through the air—in a tin tube!

I had a queasy stomach but forced myself to breathe through it. Turbulence doesn’t help much, but I’m flying right now!

Anyway, long story short, I thought I booked our flights for Wednesday–tomorrow. Β My husband was responsible for the car rental and a night in a motel.

To the shock of all of us, I booked the flight one day early. We found this tidbit of information at 11:30ish last night. We had to be at the airport at 6:30 am or there about.

So the rush to pack was on. We logged 4 hours sleep. Which could explain how I am not in a total panic, I’m still mostly asleep.

Thankfully our flight is short, and I thought it would be great exposure therapy. Β To expose myself even more, I’m forcing myself to keep the shade up and look out the window. I even took some photos, which I will share when we get back.

Am I totally comfortable? Ohmygosh no! But just as I survived my trip driving to the city and back, acknowledging that nothing catastrophic happened, I will continue to chip away at this fear.

I still have the landing to go, but I know I will survive this panic/anxiety/phobia.

Luckily, my husband is next to me. If I have a major meltdown he can knock me out. πŸ˜€ Seriously kidding!

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
Image | This entry was posted in Anxeity and Depression and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to No Xanax required

  1. mewhoami says:

    Good job!! Hey if it takes being sleepy to get through it, then bring on the sleepiness. What a shock that must have been to lose a day for preparation, but also kind of neat to do something so…unplanned. I can’t think of the word right now. But anyway – congrats on making through the flight!

  2. πŸ™‚ Happy travels April! Obviously you don’t have to be told you CAN DO THIS! Because you ARE. πŸ™‚

    • April says:

      I said it about a million times. Short flight. The real test will be from Atlanta to Seattle. This was tiny exposure therapy. Only problem, I don’t fly that much so the exposure has to be simply true grit. I almost broke my fingers from squeezing my hands together on the landing πŸ˜‰

  3. reocochran says:

    I am so excited that you were flying and did not have a chance to use medication or panic, yet, at least… So happy for you to be chipping away at your fears’ list, now you can ‘check’ this one off, check done! I am so glad you also found out before too late about the mistake in flight days, too! This was so lucky!! Smiles for you and yours, April to have a great getaway!

    • April says:

      Thanks! I made it there and back. It wasn’t easy, but the big thing is to remember that I was successful, and nothing bad happened.

  4. Glynis Jolly says:

    Flying doesn’t bother me except for a little motion sickness, which is easy to avoid with a pill. I find flying kind of boring. Of course, I never would have seen Greece if I did fly, but I prefer road trips.

  5. suzjones says:

    woo hoo. You go girl. πŸ™‚ So proud of you.

Comments are closed.