I’m a rug

Yes. A rug.

A nice one though.

However, a bit rough around the edges.

Most have walked around me because somewhere hidden within the soft pile, were barbs.

But, I have groomed myself, and begged people to walk on me.

And walk on me, they have.

My pile is quite smooshed these days.

And I’m becoming a bit threadbare.

But, I’m still a rug.

I have higher aspirations, and with the help of my husband, one day I will become a chair.

A throne.

Not the porcelain type found in the potty room, but an elegant chair—bedecked with blue sapphires, and peridot gems (Seattle Seahawk colors).

The most comfortable throne that will beckon all to sit upon.

To remind me what an ass feels like for being a rug. 😀

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to I’m a rug

  1. Gallivanta says:

    Blue sapphires and peridot gems would make a lovely tiara. 🙂

  2. Very clever short story. Well done — especially since you mentioned the Seahawks! 🙂

    • April says:

      Are you a fan?

      • I am the 12th Man in New Mexico!

        • April says:

          Yay! I’m a long time fan from the beginning. Win or lose, I will continue to root for them. Wasn’t last year amazing?

          • I’ve lived in Seattle twice. Have been a die hard fan since the NFL launched the franchise. And I’ve been a lonely rooter for many long stretches. They certainly have the potential to repeat this year, as long as everyone stays healthy!

            • April says:

              I lived in the Seattle area for 47 years. Now, we live in Falcons territory and someday in the future, Chiefs territory. I thought we were lone fans here, but I have spied a couple others here and there. I found a meet-up club with 15 members who gathered at a pub for the games played before 8:30 pm. We didn’t join them because our youngest isn’t 21, and he is my best companion while watching the games these days. I do believe we have a great chance as well.

  3. mewhoami says:

    Interesting read. It’s never good to feel like a walked on rug. Then again, only nice rugs get walked on.

  4. Hahahahahahahahahaa! Well done April well done!!!!! 🙂

  5. suzjones says:

    We need a rug for under our dining table. Care to hop on a metal tube with wings?? lol
    Seriously though, I agree with mewhoami – only the best rugs are walked on and enjoyed.

  6. reocochran says:

    I am belatedly reading this, adding a hahahaha! To the assembled and special friends here! I agree, we could all have higher aspirations… April, I have just drafted a post that I will publish tomorrow, hope it is okay. It is about my next ‘job’ I wish I could have! This post made me think a rug should be looking up in the world! smile!

Comments are closed.