It’s 3:30 am — What World Problem Are You Solving?

Even though I’ve boycotted the news, every now and then, I will check CNN to see what I have been missing in the world. I only have to do it for a moment because they repeat the same nonsense over and over, and analyze the story to pieces.

This morning, I received my morning laugh-out-loud when CNN was airing an interview with  – oh crap – I can’t remember the title the man holds, but he was like our Secretary of State? So, I suppose he was the Russian equivalent? Sorry, didn’t hang around long enough, or perform further research. Anyway, satellite photos have shown Russian troops moving into the Ukraine. The man said that the photos were from a video game, and that Russia is innocent of these allegations. Seriously?

sigh

Yesterday, I was touched by a story another blogger posted about a little boy suffering from cancer. Stage 4 of an ugly name assigned to his particular cancer. He is 6-years-old, and has been fighting through surgeries, bone marrow transplants, and chemotherapy for 3 years. The little boy has the most beautiful smile, and kind people are helping him fulfill his bucket list. Tears usually come to my eyes when I read something like this. Yesterday, I cried. No sobbing or wailing, but I cried for the little boy—I wanted to help.

Then I thought about all the other little children fighting cancer. The child without a Facebook page or a viral story on the internet. The families struggling to pay the medical bills and facing the fear of losing their child, as no parent should ever have to fear.

The pain I experienced when I had surgery to remove my tumor – well, nodule – was pretty painful, even for a person with a high tolerance to pain. Because my cancer was found in the early stages, I was fortunate to avoid the joy of chemotherapy or radiation, and every day I count my blessings for that. That kind of therapy brings adults to their knees, I can only imagine what it must do to a child.

Even though I have mostly slept in a medicated induced stupor for years, I wake up every morning around 3:30 am. I worry about a friend, my kids, other people’s kids, the turmoil in other countries, our public education system….well, you get the point. I try to understand why I can’t understand my moods, and why my brain can’t just function as everybody else is fortunate enough to experience.

When I wake up at 3:30 am, I think too much, and have mini brainstorming sessions to solve all the problems. Ha! Seriously? Yeah, 3:30 am brain-fog produces all kinds of grandiose problem solving strategies. Eventually, I fall back asleep, and can’t remember a one of the solutions.

Wouldn’t it be nice if cancer could be wiped out with a laser beam in a video game? Wouldn’t it be nice if sufferers of any kind of disease could wake up tomorrow, and find that their lives have simply been a video game, and they aren’t really ill?

No serious offense intended, but maybe we should ask the Russians?

 

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to It’s 3:30 am — What World Problem Are You Solving?

  1. aviets says:

    It’s interesting that you go to attempted problem solving when you’re up in the middle of the night. I just worry obsessively – everything is SO much worse in the dark hours.

    • April says:

      When I worry, it’s usually the problem solving that keeps me worrying because I want to fix everything, and make everything perfect–which of course, isn’t possible. The dark hours are the scary ones.

  2. Gallivanta says:

    LOL yes; the Russians are being very inventive. However, sad to say, all the weapons being used, bombs exploded etc are just adding carcinogens to the environment. Great. 😦

    • April says:

      I’m wondering how many of them, or parts of them came from our wonderful country. Not from Russia, but from the other countries having uprisings.

  3. suzjones says:

    I do my best thinking in the middle of the night. Can’t remember a thing the next morning though. I loved this post April. Just brilliant.

  4. I love the way you think April

  5. mewhoami says:

    Although it’s impossible to solve every problem, it’s wonderful that you have so much compassion for others.

Comments are closed.