Purchasing Gaffes

Every now and then, I purchase something and later regret my choice.

Usually it’s just one more skein of yarn, or a bunch of supplies to make a craft project. In fact, I have some hard plastic, and a tool to cut the plastic. I purchased these items years ago, and for the life of me, I can’t remember what project I had intended to use them.

However, I had a brilliant idea that I needed one of those 10x magnifying mirrors with lights around it. I wanted to get one of a huge diameter–you know, so I could see all of my face at one time. Because I couldn’t find one, I had to settle for a smaller diameter, but with the same magnification.

I only wanted it to make sure that when I went to the dentist, and they pointed their beacon of blinding light on my face, there wouldn’t be any wild hairs, or the beginnings of the return of the uni-brow. OR that they will highlight the one stray chin hair that nobody seems to tell me about. I think my family has a bet on how long it will take me to notice. 😉

Ugh.

If you are considering purchasing one of these mirrors, take my word for it…it’s best to stay blind and ignorant.

And…if you are sending your son off to college with a nice set of white towels and washcloths, re-think that one too. Just as I knew they would, the towels came back gray. Why I didn’t trust my gut on that one, I will never know…I learned with the first returned kid, but sent the second off with white towels as well. I suppose I’m a slow learner.

Just buy them gray to start with. At least you will continue to stay in the dark about how they ignored all the clothes washing instructions you so lovingly shared with them.

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
Image | This entry was posted in Parenting, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Purchasing Gaffes

  1. aviets says:

    Oooooh, I made the mistake of white towels for The Boy, too. They were on clearance and the only color they had at Target that day was white. He couldn’t care less what his towels look like, but they make me cringe.

    • April says:

      Apparently, mixing colors isn’t that important to them.

      • aviets says:

        Definitely. He told me he throws everything – EVERYTHING – in all together every week so he only has to pay for one load. I was appalled. But at least he is washing his stuff.

        • April says:

          Hahaha! Mine too! When our oldest came back and did his first load, I told him he couldn’t overload our machine–he does, and all the colors continue to be mixed. But…I don’t have to do his laundry, which is a plus.

  2. mewhoami says:

    I don’t even trust myself enough to buy white towels. 🙂 As far as the magnifying mirror goes, as often as I’ve been tempted to buy one, I think sometimes it’s better not to know everything.

  3. suzjones says:

    Too funny. I promise, I won’t buy a magnifying mirror. I do have a big-arse magnifying glass though for working on some of my craft projects. lol

    • April says:

      I have one too! Except it seems to be too small. I’m going to hunt around for one because my clip on magnifiers drag my glasses down my nose.

  4. Oh the crazy purchases over the years….. fortunately for me white towels was never one of them! I wish that had been my only gaffe! 🙂

Comments are closed.