…said the spider to the fly

We have a spider which has built quite the condominium across three windows. Windows that I must look through every day. Three windows I’m avoiding washing because of the local resident, and all its victims. The web keeps growing…

6K2A1146

Today, I discovered the creepy thing has a roommate. That must be why the condo was remodeled–to accommodate the extra tenant.

Or…perhaps the second one is a boomerang child.

Meh, I’m going to have to pull out the hose and see if I can get a good enough stream of water to knock it down from the second story—because eventually it will get cold, and I don’t want them adding onto their condo—inside our home.

We have enough inhabitants.

We were having a backyard campfire, and one lonely dog was left inside....

We were having a backyard campfire, and one lonely dog was left inside….see her eyes? Photo added for no particular reason, except for a chuckle

I thought that was where this post would end, but then I started thinking about insects.

As I have said before, I don’t wear a sign around my neck regarding my mental disabilities, but I am more than willing to share my experiences if someone is interested in reading, or hearing about them.

Of course, if you use Facebook, Twitter, or any type of social media, you have seen the stories, tributes, and comments about the suicide of Robin Williams.

Most of the people are demanding that we stand up and drop the curtain of stigma from mental illness. “Let’s open a discussion”, they say.

Ha! In the last week, I have politely commented and shared my experiences regarding my mental illness. The friends status’ I commented on are aware that I struggle with diseases of the mind.

Guess what I was met with?

Crickets.

Virtual crickets.

Facebook.

eye roll

A place to become a virtual spider….strike, then retreat. 

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to …said the spider to the fly

  1. aviets says:

    Yup. The general public would rather pretend depression and other brain illnesses do not exist. And, I suppose, there are a lot of people who are afraid to say anything, for fear of saying the wrong thing.

    One of the last things I had my son do before he left for college was to rid us of the horrendous web on my kitchen window. I’d had to watch as a big, juicy spider trapped numerous insects for a couple of weeks, and by the time The Boy cleared it off it was abandoned with just carcasses everywhere. I couldn’t stand the thought of looking at that all during the fall.

  2. Thank you for this post. What is it – politics and mental illness, people seem to be afraid to talk about both.

    • April says:

      Hahaha! Well, now politics is something I won’t discuss. I’ve tried, and I’m very open-minded to the views of others. However, the political situation over that last couple of decades has become very nasty and unkind.

  3. suzjones says:

    Great post once again my dear.

  4. Gallivanta says:

    Crickets? Love the glow in the dark dog eyes.

  5. I’m sorry you’ve had the ‘crickets’ experience April. Personally I think you do a stand up job of trying to explain, clearly, what others may not understand. And whether those people are ready or not, doesn’t mean others aren’t. Keep talking! 😉

Comments are closed.