I Wish My Arms Were Big Enough

This morning, I perused Facebook and was met with the usual narrow-minded political crap, I rolled my eyes and chose to accept their ignorance, bless their little hearts. Then, I came across a short clip a friend posted of a speech from a movie that Robin Williams acted in. I’m paraphrasing–I suppose that’s what one would call it–I didn’t change much of the wording, I simply left out words because this is what I took from the speech the character made.

Throughout life, we find ourselves trying to remember the good times and trying to forget the bad times, and we find ourselves thinking about the future. We start to worry, thinking, “What am I going to do?” Please, don’t worry so much. Because in the end, none of us have very long on this earth. Make your life spectacular.

Hmmmm…..

I know that I can’t change the minds of others, but I wish that they could open their minds to a different thought.

I would like to scoop up all the people and animals in the world, who are suffering in one way or another, and help them.

To a mind that works as mine does, that is one tall order that overwhelms me. Logically, I know that one person can only do so much. Emotionally, I don’t feel I do enough.

And while my brain wants to wander to the grandiose ideas of fixing the world, I know that, in the end, I made my life spectacular because I chose to seek the help I needed–more like I was “gently nudged”–and I was successful in making a difference in the lives of others.

My family’s.

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to I Wish My Arms Were Big Enough

  1. aviets says:

    Thanks for this today. Wise words. -Amy

  2. I loved this and needed to read this today.

  3. How true. Life is too short and it is hard to watch those who suffer. I’m sure you constantly impact people in a positive way!

  4. suzjones says:

    You’re a true hero April. ❤

  5. Beautiful! And you did help everyone in YOUR world. 🙂 It does have ripple effects too.

  6. Gallivanta says:

    And very little tops that. 🙂

Comments are closed.