…and the paint debacle continues

I wrote something in my last post about taking the necessary steps to reach the end goal. No skipping steps 2-9, to get to 10. That doesn’t mean I don’t try to combine tasks. You know, do everything in one trip.

As much as I love the hardware store, I thought that since I needed a few grocery items, I had a brilliant idea to go to Wal-Mart, since it’s less than a 5 minute drive.

Yes! Wal-Mart does everything! They take over small towns, they surely must be able to match paint swatches. I also had a prescription to pick up, so Bam…three things taken care of in one awful store.

Before I left, I decided to stir the left over paint in the can we had in the garage. I was going to take the stir stick, but wasn’t patient enough to wait for it to dry. I couldn’t get the label off the side of the can, and since it was a “builders” paint, I was certain that Wal-Mart wouldn’t have the paint on their shelves. I believed they would be able to color match, or at the very least, follow the ingredients on the label I couldn’t get off.

No.

That’s the one thing Wal-Mart cannot do.

Come to find out, when I stirred that paint, apparently the bottom of the can had rusted. Paint apparently has a shelf life. I discovered that when I opened a can of primer, only to find it had congealed. I didn’t think about, the longer paint sits, maybe the bottom will rust. All my experience of painting interiors, exteriors, decks, and fences, you’d think that would be something I would know.

I unknowingly made a hole in the bottom of the can.

I was quite pleased with myself for organizing all my errands in a single trip to the big Super Store. Patting myself on the back, I toddled along, paint can in hand, into the store.

As I was discovering that Wal-Mart doesn’t have the capability to match the particular color I was looking for, the gentlemen who was helping me said there was a hole in the bottom of the can.

Yup, there it was.

At that moment, I wanted to lie on the floor and perform a little hissy fit. Nothing new for people on Wal-Mart excursions, but I didn’t want to be on one of those photo montages of “The People of Wal-Mart”.

I found the evidence of my gaffe in the cart I used to carry the can to the paint department. There was major evidence on the floor mat in my car, there was a “bread crumb” trail from the car, across the wood floor, to the table I stirred the paint. A tidy blob left on the table.

I’m pretty sure if I retrace my steps through the Wal-Mart parking lot and the store, it would be apparent that I stopped to pick up the prescription, cat litter, and found a pot for a plant I want to start—prior to venturing to the paint department.

Needless to say, I thought it wise to avoid any ladders–even step stools. I even limited the number of times I went up and down the stairs.

Thankfully, it was Latex paint. There are some blessings to be found, if we look hard enough.

Second verse, same as the first.

Oh, and why is it—that if you have a four light bulb fixture, and all the bulbs have burned out—our choices are packages packed by 3s, making us have to purchase 2 packs?

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to …and the paint debacle continues

  1. As annoying as this was for you…..it’s kinda funny that you have a trail of paint from home to store and all about. 🙂 Glad you found the blessing. And glad you avoided the step ladders!

  2. mewhoami says:

    Oh no! It sure would’ve been nice had someone pointed that out earlier. Maybe no one else noticed?

  3. aviets says:

    That is a seriously bad Walmart experience. But come to think of it, I don’t recall ever having a trip to Walmart that wasn’t a total disaster…

  4. Gallivanta says:

    Oh dear! Now I am worried about the paint pots stored in my garage. They have been there for years! Probably dried out rather than leaked. As for those bulb packets; same seems to apply to batteries.

Comments are closed.