Just what makes that little old ant…think?

A few words here, a few there.

Do people process information like they used to? Has it always been a world of judgement? Do we have the 1960’s to blame, or the 1980’s?

I’m pretty sure in an ant colony, every little ant goes about doing their job for the Queen. They work with each other to accomplish whatever it is ants accomplish. Does one stop and pull aside another to criticize the work performance of a co-worker-ant? Do some of them stand around and bitch about the Queen?

Ha!

No, they have insect brains. If they have the ability to speak to each other, I’m sure they wouldn’t waste their time with such banal conversation.

Perhaps humans could learn something from this little insect.

We could learn to use the matter we contain in the space between our ears.

We are each unique. We think and act the way we do according to our life experiences, and how our brains interpreted those experiences.

My judgement has always been held against myself. Some of it has to do with real life experiences that could not be interpreted any other way, but for the intent to hurt.

People are very unkind to others. Some of them know exactly what they are doing, some may be doing something unknowingly. The interpretation by would be the same.

I’m thankful that I happened to be born in a country with freedoms denied to women of some countries. I’m allowed an opinion, to hold a job, to wear what I want, to speak up and defend myself, and to choose the person I wanted to marry.

I have opinions. Most of them aren’t necessary to share, because I’m not entitled to force my opinion on others. A respectful discussion is the time and place for opinions–providing one can open their mind to new ideas or thoughts. I’m extremely excited about how far technology has come since I was little, but too many use various forms of social media to hurt with their words, while hiding behind their computer, as if that makes hurtful comments acceptable.

Recovering from decades of depression, anxiety, and grief, I can finally use that grey matter between my ears.

Yes, I have opinions just as everyone else. I choose to observe my thought processes if I hear an opposing view.

I have learned that my opinion isn’t always a fair “judgement”. I’m grateful for the ability to change my opinion based upon new information, letting go of old interpretations.

Whatever the reason our society is as it is—we have grown to be a very insensitive and narrow minded society. We have the idea that each of us are superior.

It would be nice to see more compassion and acceptance.

Meh, maybe it was the 1970’s. Yes, that’s where we became obsessed with me, me, me. The 1980’s was greed, lies and money—which in my opinion, continues today 😉

I wonder what it would feel like to live in an ant colony. If it’s a world of kindness and compassion, that would be a nice way to live–even if life were shorter, and I had a minuscule brain.

We humans have larger brains, but many refuse to use the entire thing.

 

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Just what makes that little old ant…think?

  1. I agree April, the society are more egoistic today. Maybe because we are not so dependent by each other any longer.

  2. aviets says:

    Have you ever read “Once and Future King?” There’s a section in which the main character is turned into an ant as part of his education. The ants speak and think in the words “done” and “not done,” rather like a binary computer code. Couldn’t help thinking of that as I read your post today.
    🙂 Amy

    • April says:

      No, I haven’t read that book, if I had, I would have never been able to recall details like that 🙂 Anyway, that kind of sums up my life, although it’s more like mostly done, not done.

  3. Hey I’d sign up, where’s the form? 😉

  4. We truly use so very very little of it……

  5. Gallivanta says:

    Hmmm…I wonder what it is like to live in an ant colony? Whatever it’s like, I wish the ants would stop inviting themselves in to see how I live. Before the earthquakes, I didn’t even know ants existed in my part of the city. Now, whenever the temperatures rise, they appear along my window sills, and on the kitchen bench. And, yes, it would be nice if we used our brains for kindness and goodness.

    • April says:

      We have what they call fire ants. If you step on one of their hills, the little things bite. Mean little insects. We usually have an annual battle of the ants. There are some natural ways to keep them out of the house, but we go with the environmentally unfriendly insect killer.

      You know what else? I think many people make it their business–the business of others. They simply need to keep their opinions to themselves. We are all a little “special” in one way or another.

  6. suzjones says:

    The world makes me sad these days. I met a woman yesterday who I have only seen on television. I went along hoping that the producers of that show had used editing to make her appear as someone that she wasn’t. After listening to her speak and actually conversing with her, I came to the realisation that the producers were portraying her as she really is. And that made me sad that someone could be so harsh and unforgiving. It made me sad that she is so bitter over past events and that she is so arrogant and egotistical along with all that. For a woman who is actually quite attractive, the wearing of black really does suit her in more ways than one.
    It’s such a sad thing really.

    • April says:

      I always taught my kids to be kind to someone they don’t understand–or are mean. They don’t know what is going on at home, and maybe they have a problem they don’t know how to deal with, other than being a bully. I think some people who grow up with a poor view of themselves seem to be the most critical of others. It’s just my observations.

      • suzjones says:

        I truly believe that a child is a product of his upbringing. Although once that child reaches adulthood there is that possibility of change.

        • April says:

          Yes, and I learned from my therapist, as I was whining about not being the perfect mom, she pointed out that kids are influenced by more than just me. They have peers, other adults like their friend’s parents, teachers, coaches. They’re clever little observers. All the observation creates who they are. I may be a little frustrated at times, but they are all wonderful adults.

Comments are closed.