They’re Taking Away My Sanctuary

I do have a gratitude entry, and I will post it after my bellyaching.

I can’t wait to move to Nowhere, Missouri. I now have some more motivation to kick my ass into high gear and get our house ready to market, and that house ready to move into.

I have written about my love of sitting on the deck and loving how the trees kind of block us in. I can pretend we’re not in suburbia, but in our own little backyard haven.

We have new neighbors.

The neighbors who moved, were the only people in the neighborhood that we knew beyond the nod and wave. She was more of a “naturalist”, had very little grass in the yard, and grew fruits and vegetables instead. The rest of their yard was left native. While I don’t miss her fertilizer of choice, which produced the steamy smell of manure during the humid days of summer—I do miss having them next door.

We have left a good section of our property native for the privacy, but that’s a long, boring story, and part of it has to do with the stinkin’ County and their cruel design plan for a portion of our property.

The point—because of all the native undergrowth and trees, during the summer, we have quite a bit of privacy. Without the leaves, we can see 7 or 8 backyards of the houses in the neighborhood behind us.

Ms. New Neighbor is taking that away, and I am extremely sad.

The worst sound to me, other than incessant dog barking, is the sound of a chainsaw. They’re a buzzing next door, and the freakin’ dogs are barking their silly heads off.

I’m plotting some revenge—mwahahaha!

But I made an agreement with myself, and even though I want to run next door to make sure she knows exactly where the property line is, I have something I’m grateful for.

Miralax.

Yes, that old-fart supplement to keep our bodies on a regular schedule.

Obviously, I don’t need to go into too much detail, because — well, I’m sure details are not necessary.

However, it isn’t supposed to have a taste, but I beg to differ. It isn’t a nice compliment to my morning coffee. I add it to my water with lemon. If my tongue tells me there is a taste to it, the lemon takes it away.

Miralax is what keeps April happy–which makes the rest of the household relax.

Okay, now I have some work to do purging some crap, because next week, some of us will be in Nowhere getting rid of 18 years of nicotine build-up.

I hope you find something to be grateful for today.

 

 

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to They’re Taking Away My Sanctuary

  1. Gallivanta says:

    What a pity Miralax doesn’t work on nicotine build up! 😀 😀

  2. Are you moving for serious or just a little away?
    Good post April 😉

    • April says:

      We are moving, but it may take a year or more. We have one more kids to get through college.

      My husband and a couple of his siblings inherited my father in law’s house. It’s in beautiful farm country. My husband is buying our his siblings.

      The place is a 12 hour drive, so getting there between doctor’s appointments is rough. Also, there are better times during the year to place a home on the market–that would be Spring time here.

      But, yes—we are slowing down life, my husband is leaving the corporate world, and we are going to learn how to enjoy life. 😀

  3. I have neighbors on one side that I don’t really care for and they do all sorts of things that I can’t control – one of them being cutting down shrubbery on their side, which of course makes it so we have no privacy from them. Every day I wish they would move. They recently had furnace work done and I was sure that meant they were planning to put the house on the market. It didn’t, but I keep dreaming.

    • April says:

      I swear, we always seem to have a neighbor we can’t – um – tolerate. They move, then we move shortly after them.

  4. mewhoami says:

    Why do people have to cut down perfectly good trees? That happened here and half our privacy is gone now because of it. Butt (haha) Miralax would help the stress a bit. Maybe you can give her some, so she’ll stop cutting down the trees.

    • April says:

      hahaha! I hope she has erosion problems. Actually, she cut a bunch of native azaleas, and many other flowering and colorful trees. I will leave some Miralax on her door step 😀

  5. flamegirl1971 says:

    Some neighbors are just a pain in the ass. When we moved to where we are now (just a hair over a year), the grass needed a bit of work and there was a patch of dirt where there used to be a garden (like years before). We put in flowers, fixed patches where grass should of been (now has grass), and we keep it up. Wish more people could take care of their yards….

    • April says:

      We have an HOA nazi to make sure we do our lawns. Actually, if we want to cut down a tree of more than a 4″ diameter, we have to get permission. That’s what I won’t miss. I will never live in a subdivision with a homeowners association.

      • flamegirl1971 says:

        Our area is real nazi-like when it comes to recycling and if it has to do with picking weeds, sometimes they won’t even take it when it’s out in the open nexty to the garbages. Doing leaves, has to be out on the side of the road for the city to pick it up. We are in the city, but this part of the city can be a bit like what you describe as well. I live in Wisconsin by the way.

        • April says:

          We recently found a company that would pick up recycling. My kids grew up recycling, so when we moved to the Atlanta area, they were a bit surprised that there was no such thing as recycling here. The South, is still thinking about the Civil War, I’m afraid. That leaves not much room to catch up with the times.

  6. suzjones says:

    Ha ha. I thought you were going to solve your problems by giving your neighbour a coffee spiked with Miralax lol

  7. I’m sad about the buzzing neighbors but so excited about the move!!!

  8. reocochran says:

    I am so sorry,April that you have to leave this lovely sanctuary (of a cocoon) that you have made in your backyard. It may make it easier that the neighbor is sawing away at her trees and making your silent and serene paradise turn into ‘heck’ on wheels! I would hate to move away from my town, but I would be happy to live somewhere else, somewhere a little more personal than my apartment. I think you have every right to rant and complain! You listened to my complaints and I felt happier sharing them with you! I will hope somehow that your next home will have wonderful advantages and the fact you have your husband with you (and can transport your Miralax, too! Smiles!) will help it all to fall into place! Hugs, Robin

Comments are closed.