Hey! April! What Are You Grateful For?

Day 1

A new day.

Another random challenge for myself—write what I’m truly grateful for. Some big things, some very tiny, but wonderfully beautiful things nonetheless. Hopefully, a way to stop the noise of negativity, self pity, and outright frustration. A way to reduce the overwhelming feelings I sometimes have.

I write what I do (the venting), because I’m not perfect. I’m not always positive. I haven’t reached the peaceful mind yet–but I won’t give up. There are times I can’t even find something funny.

I will probably throw in a bunch more of my struggles, because there is someone out there who feels alone. It’s not okay to be ashamed of depression. It’s what matters to you, not what other people think of you. Hiding from the stigma is added fuel to the growing fire of depression.

So…….

Today, I am grateful for the man who chose to marry me 26 years ago.

He has been the best support person, father, and friend. He has held my hand even when I wanted to withdraw and isolate myself–actually, I’ve never been successful hiding from him, and I’ve even contemplated under the bed as a hiding place.

He laughs at the same things I do, and we compromise when it comes to the form of entertainment we share. What I find enjoyable, is torture to him. What he finds enjoyable, is torture to me. However, there is always, always a middle ground.

Even though I don’t think he understands depression, he sees how it tortures me. Because of him, I have grown to be the person I am today. Even though I’m still a work in progress, I’m pretty sure I will reach some peace as long as he is standing beside me.

I want to be the person he sees through his eyes. The me he sees is much more beautiful than my view. For that, I’m truly lucky. For that, I know I will eventually believe the same.

 

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Hey! April! What Are You Grateful For?

  1. Gallivanta says:

    Aww…that’s lovely.

  2. Leslie says:

    Hi April,
    I can relate to your blog and thank you for sharing!

    Best regards,

    Leslie

  3. What a lovely ‘thing’ to be grateful for. 🙂

  4. suzjones says:

    You are truly blessed to have someone like him in your life. 🙂

  5. What a blessing for you to have such a wonderful, supportive partner! And what a nice post for him to read. 🙂

  6. reocochran says:

    Your husband and partner may not always have the same ‘favorites’ in mind, but you, April, and he are each other’s favorite person! The rest, like you mentioned, all relies on compromise. He sees you as a special and beautiful person, we do too! Smiles, Robin

Comments are closed.