Every Turn a Surprise

I’m back to focusing on beauty that surrounds us. If we look really hard, there can be something worthy of note.

Which includes bugs and odd critters.

Spiders aren’t at the top of my list of beautiful insects, but they do fascinate me.

One time, while on a visit to my dad’s mom in Arizona, my mom, sister, and I, were lounging on the patio suffering from the heat. Being from Seattle, anything over 72 degrees was sweltering. As we were chatting, a HUGE–almost tarantula sized spider–crept down the wall. My sister and I had never moved so fast. My mom sat on the porch swing, paralyzed, flapping her arms and making oooo, oooo, noises, over and over. We have had many laughs when we recall that story.

Arizona also has beetles that fly, called palo verde beetles. They make a humming/buzz noise as they soar through the air, and you’d better not have long hair, because they will zero in on the one with the most hair, and that’s where they land. I swear πŸ˜€ personal experience.

Lizards, snakes, and frogs are beautiful in their own way. While I keep my distance from snakes, some have really beautiful markings–even the poisonous snakes. Snakes slither with such beautiful grace.

Off the top of my head, there are two bugs I can’t find any beauty–cockroaches, and mosquitoes.

I would bet these two bugs live in most places in the world. Mosquitoes, are excellent carriers of diseases, and I suppose they are food for other critters, but we should have some really fat critters around because there is an abundance of mosquitoes to choose from.

The cockroach–no purpose in the cycle of life–at least I don’t know of one–maybe someone could tell me why they roam the earth. They are here to creep us out, and are a torture toy for the cats.

Recently, IΒ have been sitting on our deck more. It’s something I haven’t done for so long–I can’t remember. Depression takes all that is enjoyable, and makes it disappear. I used to find solace while sitting on the deck listening to the birds, feeling the breeze, and the heat of the sun.

Bug spray is a must for me when I step outside, even for a moment, but it isn’t my perfume of choice.

Yesterday, I decided to take my CD player and sit on the deck for a while. (yeah, I’m still behind with technology) I wanted to block out that stinkin’ barking from the neighbor’s dog. I listened to classical music, and realized that sweat running down my face was a great disguise for the tears that taunt me most days.

I decided to change to some “spa” like music, and much to my surprise, it was a Louise Hay tape placed in the wrong case. Okay, I listen to her, and I benefit from her CD’s. However, she makes me laugh out loud. I need a guided meditation tape made by George Clooney. Even if he says something silly, or in a funny way, I would definitely relax, and not laugh. But, Louise did make the tears go away.

I didn’t use the bug spray, and I’m paying for my neglectfulness.

No. There is nothing beautiful about the mosquito.

(a note to the babysitter–I got up early, so I had time to write. I promise to reach the goals I set for myself today)

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Every Turn a Surprise

  1. aviets says:

    My back porch is a haven for me, too. The antics of the squirrels are always good for a laugh, and the gorgeous little song birds we now have coming to our feeders truly delight my soul. πŸ™‚ -Amy

  2. revgerry says:

    Enjoyed your post, April. Living in Arizona I can totally picture tour creatures -except we only have mosquitos during monsoon season, which has just started. The Palo Verde beetle totally freaked me out they are so big. Sounds like the universe thought you needed a little Louise Hay lift to your day. Enjoy your patio and your creatures; I don’t go outside as much as I used to when I would go out and read a book. I remember an entire summer lying outside on a lounge and letting the sun bake the tears out of me – I lived in Oregon then, summers were more reasonable.

    • April says:

      Oh yeah, I forgot to mention that they were huge too. I think the spider we saw, my grandpa called a sun spider. Anyway, I never could figure out why they lived there. Way to buggy for me.

  3. Loathe bugs and mozzies tend to eat me alive 😦

    • April says:

      Yeah, I don’t like them either, but some are interesting an in their own way beautiful…..as long as they aren’t crawling on me.

  4. Gallivanta says:

    Cockroaches and mozzies; not my favourites. Not keen on flies either.

    • April says:

      I forgot about bedbugs. They have no purpose either–and they’re ugly. I haven’t had any experience with them, and I hope to never have the pleasure. If I have to be spending a night in a motel, I will be pulling apart that bed to make sure I won’t have bed mates.

  5. suzjones says:

    I am so pleased you found some solace and a respite from the tears hun. πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.