Why Is It?

Long after I decided to never wear a two-piece bathing suit, I noticed that a person can purchase a top, separate from a bottom. What a novel idea. I wasn’t so fortunate when I was younger and could never find a suit to fit me. I made my own.

In fact, I had to make most of my clothes because they just weren’t made to fit my body type. Apparently, teens aren’t supposed to have any curves or boobs. I was also just tall enough that all the ready-made pants were too short. My daughter has the same dilemma with the curves and boobs, however, she is vertically challenged.

Of course, I could have shopped in what they called the Missy Section, but to me, those were old lady clothes. My daughter could shop in the petite section, but she has found the same thing–old lady clothes.

...see, I can start, and finish a project. This blanket is for my nephew. Now I just have to remove all the cat hair that I hoped would come out in the wash, but didn't. Then I have to actually box it up and mail it.

…see, I can start, and finish a project. This blanket is for my great-nephew. Now I just have to remove all the cat hair that I hoped would come out in the wash, but didn’t. Then I have to actually box it up and mail it.

I would like to believe I’m creative. Which I am, as long as I have a pattern and instructions. Precise instructions. I can tweak a pattern to make it larger or smaller, but in order to create something, I have to have something to start with.

The same goes for cooking. Splitting a recipe which calls for a can of cream of something soup is not easy to split. I suppose I could make an entire recipe and freeze the rest, but I have to Google everything to find out if it is freezable.

So, here I am, trying to decide how much ground beef to buy when I want to double the recipe that calls for one pound of ground beef. I want to buy 2 pounds, but the packages are always 1.32 pounds or some such figure–never 1.0 pounds. Precise, remember?

So, if my recipe is to turn out perfect, do I increase the rest of the ingredients by .6?

Ha! I don’t really care that much. I just fix whatever, and hope the cohabitants eat it. I appreciate a thumbs up if it’s a recipe I should use again. I really don’t like hearing six months after making a meal from a particular recipe, that it isn’t really that good.

Yeah, someone else needs to take on the grocery shopping and the chef duties.

 

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Why Is It?

  1. I had the same problem with suits and clothes, eventually just found someone to make all my clothes tailored for awhile till the fashion world figured out you could have a small waist but large boobs, and hips. I’m the exact opposite when it comes to cooking, trying to be exact gives me anxiety so I just toss things together and hope for the best lol.

  2. mewhoami says:

    Finding clothes that fit have never been a problem with me, but shopping for them always is. I can’t stand shopping and avoid it until absolutely necessary. Plus, I know nothing about fashion. You are very precise, but I am sure that works to your benefit at times. Being a perfectionist isn’t always a bad thing. I’m married to one and often times his perfectionism pays off.

    • April says:

      I can’t stand shopping either. Actually, the only part of my personality that I enjoy is perfectionism–within boundaries.

  3. I have issues with women’s clothes. They are not made for my large shoulders. I am built, in my opinion, like a very strong box. I have ‘shape’. But not a shape that is conducive to women’s clothing. So mostly I wear men’s shirts and women’s pants. It doesn’t bother me. I don’t have the skill to make clothes. And as for cooking….I don’t anymore. Sometimes I miss that. But most times I don’t. πŸ˜‰

    • April says:

      I have wide shoulders. It was an adjustment I had to make on my patterns. Who cooks in your home? Are you one of those lucky ones that married a cook?

      • I married a dish washer, laundry doer, and cook for a few things. We seldom cook. We ‘piece’ at night. Usually having eaten a bigger meal during a lunch meal. We go out ‘some’. But we aren’t big meal eaters at night any longer. When the kids were growing up I had dinner on the table every night without fail, I believed strongly in that. But once they were gone…..my husband is not a big eater of varieties. He wouldn’t eat what I would want to cook so it kind of fell to the wayside. πŸ™‚

        • April says:

          One thing that I have to look forward to, when all my kids are out of the house, and the possibility of them not boomeranging, my husband would eat the same meal–meaning every Sunday we have roast, Monday–spaghetti..and so on. That would solve my dilemma of what to cook to please everybody.

  4. suzjones says:

    I have never been able to find clothes that fit perfectly. I don’t wear dresses because of this. Most dresses are too big in the top if I get them to fit my hips, or perfect in the top and won’t go over my hips. That’s why I wear a lot of tops and bottoms. πŸ™‚
    And I am always playing with recipes and cooking lol

    • April says:

      I wear skirts with tops because I have a long torso. The regular dresses have a waist that sits too high on me. However, I can’t remember the last time I wore a skirt. Does a muumuu count?

      • suzjones says:

        rofl I wore a skirt last night lol
        I have problems with some dresses that I try on because I know they will fit around my hips but because I have such big kahunas, the dress falls from there rather than under where a normal bustline would be.

  5. Gallivanta says:

    The blanket is beautiful. Meat packagers are naughty. There’s no reason why they can’t package in precise amounts, like a pound or quarter pound. If you can package 2lbs of apples or carrots, it has to be easier for meat. Oh but wait, does anyone check that the bag of apples is precisely 2lbs? πŸ˜‰

    • April says:

      Thank you for the compliment. I need to get it sent off before my great-nephew will be using it as a cape because it will be too small for a blanket. Anyway—hmmm….I wonder about the apples and the potatoes too! One thing I was wondering as I was preparing a splurge on steak—cutting off the fat. I cut off a lot of fat that went into the per pound price. Next time, I think I’m going to ask the butcher to cut off the fat and reweigh the meat.

Comments are closed.